DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Electrical wiring/outlets are on outsides of walls, want to hide them




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-08-2011, 08:34 PM  
fiveomar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2
Default Electrical wiring/outlets are on outsides of walls, want to hide them

Hey guys, I recently purchased a 100 year old house, my first home.

Anyway, the wiring and outlets on certain walls are on the outside of the wall instead of inside it. This is mainly on the exterior walls where there is brick and then plaster over, with no space between the brick and plaster for wiring to go.

As a newbie, I wanted to learn about the different options for hiding the wiring and outlets. I'd like this to a DIY job if possible and not too complicated.

I've attached a few pics as examples. Thanks!



dsc04748.jpg   dsc04750.jpg   photo.jpg  
__________________

Last edited by fiveomar; 02-08-2011 at 08:37 PM.
fiveomar is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-09-2011, 06:38 AM  
joecaption
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,361
Liked 38 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Most often when wiring an old house where there was no wiring before someone would have used a lot wider baseboards then what they used in your house and the wiring would have been run under the floor joist and ran up to the baseboards with holes cut in the baseboards to install the shallow outlet boxes. In those paneled walls they could have came up through the bottom plates and had the wires behind the wall.
Someone was trying to cheap out or just cover up something fast if they installed paneling instead of taking the time to remove the old plaster and sheetrocking those other walls.
It's a shame how many 100 plus year old houses get "modernize" and get raped in the procces.
Just read over some of the older post on any DIY site and see just how many first time DIY's add these words to there post, "cheap, fast, easy" doing it right the first time so it never has to be done again is not fast cheap or easy. But having to only do it once still comes out costing 1/2 a much.



__________________
joecaption is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-09-2011, 03:08 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,200
Liked 113 Times on 98 Posts
Likes Given: 65

Default

Cut a hole in the wall, drill through the sill plates from the attic or basement/crawlspace and fish a line through the wall cavity to install and old work box.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-09-2011, 05:17 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 974
Liked 106 Times on 86 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

What you have it the best option for concrete walls. They are not hollow so there is no way to 'fish' cable.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2011, 12:07 PM  
fiveomar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeD View Post
What you have it the best option for concrete walls. They are not hollow so there is no way to 'fish' cable.
By best you mean cheapest. Aesthetics are more important.

I like the baseboard outlets idea...
__________________
fiveomar is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2011, 12:19 PM  
joecaption
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,361
Liked 38 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

I've never seen plaster applyed directly to a brick outside wall. Far more likly the home was framed then bricked up over the outside walls.
If it was plaster over brick then your walls would only be a thick as the width of a brick plus the plaster. It also would have 0 insulation in the walls.

__________________
joecaption is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-15-2011, 07:51 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 974
Liked 106 Times on 86 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

You said you have concrete walls how are you going to fish cables into the baseboard. You will need to chisel out a hole for the box. Then you need drill from that hole down into the basement. Do you have a basement? Then you need another hole in the basement to meet the drilled hole unless you have a drill that can drill around corners and come out in the basement.

You could mount all the boxes in the floor but floor boxes are very expensive.

A third option is to build a stud wall in front of the brick plaster and insulate, install your electrical and cover with drywall.



__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Sudden low voltage from electrical outlets? Harryc Electrical and Wiring 12 04-05-2013 05:43 PM
Electrical Wiring 1950 House rwilliams Electrical and Wiring 3 12-30-2010 05:30 PM
Just bought my first house MANimal Introductions 3 09-18-2009 09:15 AM
Just bought my first house. codytaylor Introductions 4 08-27-2009 06:34 PM
How many electrical outlets for a new kitchen? phreaq General Home Improvement Discussion 5 09-28-2007 02:09 PM