DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > is the ethernet switch too close to the electrical panel?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-22-2013, 08:19 PM  
drewdin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 391
Liked 25 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 78

Default is the ethernet switch too close to the electrical panel?

I have all of my coax and Ethernet cable run to a location in the basement that is about 1-2 feet away from the electrical panel.

I had an earlier thread about Ethernet cables being to close to power cables. As i was looking at the location of where the cables are run, it made me think it was not suitable.

I plan on putting a 24 port Ethernet switch and a coax splitter n the location in the picture. Is this location not suitable? Should it be moved lower or to another location?

Thanks



2013-01-22-18.27.56.jpg  
__________________
drewdin is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-23-2013, 04:12 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,173
Liked 102 Times on 89 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

I don't see a problem here, most of these cables are twisted pair and/or shielded.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-23-2013, 04:14 PM  
Wuzzat?
Senior Member
 
Wuzzat?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,306
Liked 165 Times on 152 Posts
Likes Given: 91

Default

Instinct tells me "no problem."
You need long runs of parallel unshielded cables close to each other to get coupling between cables. This arrangement is sort of at right angles and sort of far away and your signal cable is shielded and the panel cover provides mag field (ferrous metal) shielding.
If you end up having Bit Error Rate problems I'd look everywhere else first.

__________________

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 01-23-2013 at 04:17 PM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-23-2013, 07:53 PM  
drewdin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 391
Liked 25 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 78

Default

thats great news, i wasn't looking forward to removing and moving the wood/wires.

__________________
drewdin is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-25-2013, 09:50 AM  
Austin
Administrator
HRT_ADMIN.png
 
Austin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,048
Liked 51 Times on 44 Posts
Likes Given: 192

Default

I use my electrical cables as Ethernet lines. I have devices plugged into the wall at various points of the house. The router feeds into one receptacle and the others pick up the signal. Fast too, can burst at 20/Mbs or faster.

Austin is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-25-2013, 10:10 AM  
Wuzzat?
Senior Member
 
Wuzzat?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,306
Liked 165 Times on 152 Posts
Likes Given: 91

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Austin View Post
I use my electrical cables as Ethernet lines. I have devices plugged into the wall at various points of the house. The router feeds into one receptacle and the others pick up the signal. Fast too, can burst at 20/Mbs or faster.
You should be having all kinds of Bit Error Rate problems.
__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-30-2013, 10:11 AM  
ohmy
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 53
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

As long as its not blocking the panel. You need 36" in front of the electrical panel and 30" left or right of the panel for working clearance space. It appears to be fine in this pic.

__________________

www.TECertifiedElectricians.com

ohmy is offline  
drewdin Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-30-2013, 04:27 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,465
Liked 748 Times on 668 Posts
Likes Given: 1306

Default

Austin; If you don't have a lot of problems with you system, tell us more about it . My Dlink is a joke at best and that's on a good day.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2013, 10:37 AM  
Austin
Administrator
HRT_ADMIN.png
 
Austin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,048
Liked 51 Times on 44 Posts
Likes Given: 192

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wuzzat? View Post
You should be having all kinds of Bit Error Rate problems.
Not at all. No latency issues at all, solid connection all the time, no lost packets what so ever.


__________________
Did we help? Please consider donating to the community!
Austin is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
basic electrical panel question drewdin Electrical and Wiring 12 01-02-2013 11:15 AM
Electrical Panel Location david542 Electrical and Wiring 4 09-22-2012 06:43 PM
Electrical Panel mmaarrkk Electrical and Wiring 3 09-12-2011 05:50 PM
Is this a 'proper' way to install a new electrical panel? viki412ag Electrical and Wiring 10 04-15-2009 07:54 AM