DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > front door lights not working





Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-04-2010, 09:57 AM  
DeanM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 10
Default front door lights not working

HI

For the past 6 months, my front door lights have not been working. I checked the fuse box and everything is on. All I can think of us is 2 things: 1. The gas lamp post in front of my yard broke off the ground and is now laying flat on the lawn (I don't know if this happened before or after the front lights stopped working). 2. There is a GFI outlet right near the front door and the reset button will not stay in. So this is malfunctioning. Which one of these could be causing the problem and is there any way I can solve this on my own?? Thanks



__________________
DeanM is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-04-2010, 10:37 AM  
Wuzzat?
Senior Member
 
Wuzzat?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,841
Liked 95 Times on 86 Posts
Likes Given: 55

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeanM View Post
There is a GFI outlet right near the front door and the reset button will not stay in.
Maybe because there is actually leakage current to ground, but the default fix is to replace GFCI outlet.
A leakage current check requires a milliammeter and a low current fuse.


__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-04-2010, 10:49 AM  
DeanM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks so much for replying. So this has nothing to do with the gas lamp post? Should I replace the GFI first or do the leakage test?

__________________
DeanM is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-04-2010, 02:05 PM  
Wuzzat?
Senior Member
 
Wuzzat?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,841
Liked 95 Times on 86 Posts
Likes Given: 55

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeanM View Post
Thanks so much for replying. So this has nothing to do with the gas lamp post? Should I replace the GFI first or do the leakage test?
I'd do the leakage test.

If there's less than 5 mA leakage current in the ground lead but it's a 'false negative' indication there still may be leakage current returning by other pathways, but if it fails then for sure you have an insulation problem somewhere.

Whatever mA scale you use, you should use an external fuse of one half or one fourth of that value, but no less than 5 mA.
So on the 200 mA scale you should fuse at 100 mA or 50 mA.
__________________

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 06-04-2010 at 02:08 PM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-04-2010, 03:25 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,081
Liked 71 Times on 66 Posts
Likes Given: 50

Default

Disconnect the wires from the LOAD terminals on the GFI and then see if it will reset.
If it does reset then you have current leakage which may or may not be the result of the gas lamp post. If it does not reset, replace the GFI. Everything doesn't have to be as complicated as it someone suggests. However, as you already may be aware, if the front door lights and/or the gas lamp post are not on the same circuit as the GFI, then you have a different problem(s). Let me know what you find and then the problem can be narrowed down from there.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-04-2010, 04:03 PM  
DeanM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kok328 View Post
Disconnect the wires from the LOAD terminals on the GFI and then see if it will reset.
If it does reset then you have current leakage which may or may not be the result of the gas lamp post. If it does not reset, replace the GFI. Everything doesn't have to be as complicated as it someone suggests. However, as you already may be aware, if the front door lights and/or the gas lamp post are not on the same circuit as the GFI, then you have a different problem(s). Let me know what you find and then the problem can be narrowed down from there.
Thanks for replying guys. I just removed the outlet. It had no cover on the outlet either. (Maybe it shorted from the rain?) There are no wires going into the load. There are 3 wires. 1 ground, 1 black and 1 white and they are connected into ground, line, and line respectively. It did not reset in any way so I am going to buy a new GFI outlet. But before I do that, I must say that there is no power on the wires. I don't even know which breaker is for this one. I tested the outlet with a voltage tester and there is no power in it. So even if I replace the GFI outlet, is there a chance for my front door lights to work?

Also, will a gas lamp post have electricity? I was under the impression that it runs solely on gas. If it does use electricity, how do I check it? I bought the house recently and the gas lamp post never worked, so I don't know which is the switch for it. I just want to disconnect the electricity going into it and get over with it...
__________________
DeanM is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-04-2010, 04:17 PM  
Wuzzat?
Senior Member
 
Wuzzat?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,841
Liked 95 Times on 86 Posts
Likes Given: 55

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeanM View Post
I must say that there is no power on the wires.
Maybe that's why the GFCI doesn't reset.

The clues are leading you upstream.
__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2010, 04:52 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,081
Liked 71 Times on 66 Posts
Likes Given: 50

Default

I wouldn't replace the GFI just yet, they have to have power to reset them.
I guess it depends on the type of gas lamp post you have that will determine if you have electricity going to it. A standing pilot unit won't have electrical but, a ignitor type will. Take a look at the base of the pole and see if you find and wires going up the inside of the pole. You definetly have a short somewhere that is killing the outlet and possibly the door lights.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2010, 06:08 PM  
DeanM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kok328 View Post
I wouldn't replace the GFI just yet, they have to have power to reset them.
I guess it depends on the type of gas lamp post you have that will determine if you have electricity going to it. A standing pilot unit won't have electrical but, a ignitor type will. Take a look at the base of the pole and see if you find and wires going up the inside of the pole. You definetly have a short somewhere that is killing the outlet and possibly the door lights.

Ok there are two switches inside the house near the entrance door. I discovered that one is for the GFI outlet and the other is for the front door lights.. I turned on one of the switch and tested the wires behind the GFI outlet. There is power on the wires. So since there is electricity, I switched the GFI outlet with a new one and now it is resetting properly and the outlet is working. But still there is no power to the front door lights. Maybe the switch for the front door lights is burnt out? How do I test for this?

Anyhow, I checked the lamp post and it has a cylindrical shaped black wire running into it from underground. But I cannot find any gas line going into it. Furthermore, I found a similar wire going out of my main electric box outside and it is going underground. Could it be the wire for the lamp post? If so, how do I disconnect this? I do not intend to use an electric lamp post anymore. I am going to get a solar lamp post.
__________________
DeanM is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-06-2010, 10:12 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,081
Liked 71 Times on 66 Posts
Likes Given: 50

Default

There are several ways to test the light switch. The most conclusive method would be to remove the wall plate and test for power from ground to each lug on the switch while the switch is turned on. If power exists on both lugs then the switch is working. From there you will have to test for power on the wires at the fixture itself.
re: gas lamp wiring, this could be the same wire but, you have to be absolutely sure before you attempt any work on it's removal. Find an exposed surface at the lamp where you can test for power, turn off the breaker leading out of the main electrical box and test for power at the lamp again. If you want to permanetly disconnect power to the lamp post, disconnect the wire from the breaker inside the electrical panel.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
replacing a front door (& jamb?) Wuzzat? Windows and Doors 12 02-10-2010 01:05 PM
Front storm door? Chickensaur Windows and Doors 8 11-25-2009 02:57 AM
Closet Door Opens, Lights On, Shut door, Light off harleysilo Electrical and Wiring 9 01-20-2009 10:58 PM
Holes in the front door sill Dee_M Windows and Doors 3 10-26-2008 08:19 AM
Lowering the front door fedie0007 Framing and Foundation 5 03-04-2008 03:47 PM