DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Garage Panels updating




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2012, 10:59 AM  
david542
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sharon, PA
Posts: 19
Default Garage Panels updating

When I bought this garage the main panel and sup panel looks like this. I am changing it out to Square D Homeline. Need adive on making right. Thanks



garage-electrical-box.jpg  
__________________
david542 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2012, 03:38 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,171
Liked 102 Times on 89 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

Pictures are too dark to see anything. Is it possible to repost them with the lights on or using flash on camera?



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-11-2012, 08:43 AM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 436
Liked 32 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

I completely agree with kok, but am also curious as to what type of advice you are looking for.

__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-11-2012, 10:33 AM  
david542
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sharon, PA
Posts: 19
Default

I hope these pictures are better. The main breaker in on the right and the sub is on the left. When I take the main out should I put plywood on the 2 x 4 to screw the new panel to are I should put it like the old is? Also The new Square D Home-line panel did not come with a main breaker. I was told a 2 pole 100 breaker would do it however I not sure if I was told right.

2012-03-10-17.15.13.jpg   2012-03-10-17.13.45.jpg  
__________________
david542 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-11-2012, 10:45 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,171
Liked 102 Times on 89 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

A plywood backer board is fine. However, I'd eliminate the sub panel and install a larger main panel. The one your showing is only good for 6 circuits. The idea is to allow for expansion. In regards to the main breaker, 100A should be the max if you intend on installing the box shown in the pic. What is the amp rating of the existing main?

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-11-2012, 11:13 AM  
david542
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sharon, PA
Posts: 19
Default

It is 2 pole 100. The reason I panels out is because have my garage lights don't work any more and when you shut main breaker off there is sill power running to sup panel. The new panel is 125 amps. Since I am not using the garage much I thought this panel would be fine. Also just let you know the power running to main breaker is coming from from my barn that has a panel there.

__________________
david542 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-11-2012, 05:36 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,171
Liked 102 Times on 89 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

Your terminology confused me. The main panel is not shown in the pictures, it is in the barn. If you turn off the panel on the right and there is still power in the box on the left then the box on the left must be attached to the LINE side (not the LOAD side) of the panel on the right or the panel on the left is powered by the panel in the barn. This whole thing appears to be a mess and your new box will clean things up. You will need to wire the new panel differently than these panels and/or the panel in the barn. For the new panel, you don't require the 100A breaker and will have to keep the ground and neutral on a separate buss.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-11-2012, 05:41 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 436
Liked 32 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

That exposed triplex feeding the main is NOT acceptable to use that way. You need to change over to cable or conduit with appropriate conductors.

__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2012, 06:18 AM  
david542
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sharon, PA
Posts: 19
Default

The previous owner cut alot of corners when he did things so I am trying to clean up his mess and figure out what he did. From what I can tell the power to the barn is coming from my house main panel. The panel in the barn is an old federal pacific that has my lights and outlets on it. The wire from panel is going to the garage and underneath the meter that is no longer in use, If u need pictures let me know. Thanks

__________________
david542 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2012, 08:04 AM  
joecaption
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,361
Liked 38 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

http://inspectapedia.com/fpe/schneider.htm
May want to also concider replacing the Federal main panel.
May want to consider hiring a Pro to help you get this wired right.
Cheaper in the wrong run then a burned down building or a deadly shock.


__________________
joecaption is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Updating 1940's wiring question rmoreaux1 Electrical and Wiring 4 04-11-2011 10:40 AM
updating kitchen hotiso General Home Improvement Discussion 4 07-22-2010 10:53 PM
70's Duplex Needs updating JeffSeb General Home Improvement Discussion 17 02-19-2010 05:22 AM
Updating look of recessed fluorescent fixtures? TaskBoy Electrical and Wiring 3 06-06-2008 02:06 AM
Updating 100 amp box to 200 with pass through keoke Electrical and Wiring 1 07-15-2007 07:50 PM