DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > GFCI Outlet Question




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-14-2010, 12:50 PM  
Briyon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sedona, AZ
Posts: 2
Default GFCI Outlet Question

Hi, I am new to the forum. I am in the process of remodeling our kitchen and had a question about GFCI outlets on the same circuit. We are going to add a breakfast bar to an existing wall (see attached picture). There is currently a GFCI outlet on an adjacent wall. There are also currently standard outlets under the counter for the dishwasher and disposal, as well as an outlet on the opposite side of the dishwasher/disposal outlet and one on the end of the wall. All of these outlets are on the same circuit as the current GFCI. We will remove the one outlet at the end of the wall and maybe even the one on the opposite side of the dishwasher/disposal outlet. Not sure if that makes a difference. We would also like to add two new outlets under the breakfast bar counter top. These outlets would be within reach of the sink so I am sure they need to be GFCI. Can I add two more GFCI outlets to the same circuit as the existing GFCI outlet?

Thanks,

Brian



sedona-kitchen.jpg  
__________________
Briyon is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2010, 04:19 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,195
Liked 109 Times on 95 Posts
Likes Given: 64

Default

You only need 1 GFIC outlet per circuit to protect all the outlets on that circuit as long as the GFIC outlet is the first outlet on the circuit from the breaker. You can install more than 1 if you like but, it is unecessary and may lead to nuisance tripping.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2010, 05:36 PM  
Briyon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sedona, AZ
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for the quick response. I just want to make sure I am clear. So you are saying that the new outlets that I install, as long as they are beyond the GFCI outlet that is already there, can be standard outlets and not GFCI? Even though those new outlets will be next to the sink?

Thanks,

Brian

__________________
Briyon is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2010, 05:51 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 966
Liked 102 Times on 84 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

This is a kitchen. Since you are remodelling you need meet current codes. That means two 20 amp small appliance circuits. If there is currently only one circuit you need to add another one. All receptacles must be GFCI protected.

__________________
JoeD is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2010, 05:59 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,195
Liked 109 Times on 95 Posts
Likes Given: 64

Default

yes brian, that is correct. As long as the new outlets are downwind of the existing GFI outlet, then the new outlets will be GFI protected (as long as they are connected to the LOAD side of the existing GFI).

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-15-2010, 05:23 AM  
budro
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
Default

since you are remodeling try to do as joe d says and put two appliance outlets on seperate circuits as per code. you need to find out if the dishwasher is on this same circuit. garbage disposal too? frig? i know it should have been wired correctly the first time but i have seen kitchens with everything on one circuit. do some testing and try your best to divide them up on different circuits. now is the time. thanks, budro

__________________
budro is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-15-2010, 03:00 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,195
Liked 109 Times on 95 Posts
Likes Given: 64

Default

Good point budro, you definitely don't want the fridge on a GFIC circuit.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
outlet question casadeclarks Electrical and Wiring 17 03-01-2010 06:53 PM
GFCI Circuit 3dognight Electrical and Wiring 7 06-14-2009 08:00 AM
Refrigerator GFCI Houndrel General Appliance Discussion 2 01-22-2009 12:19 PM
change outlet w/ 3 wires to GFCI Dave928 Electrical and Wiring 10 05-14-2008 07:44 PM
Another Outlet Question thenewguy Electrical and Wiring 5 03-06-2008 10:06 PM