DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > GFCI problem





Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2008, 01:22 PM  
Remodeler
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
Default

Flamed, not by me. This is why I am asking the question. How would I know there was a problem if I did not change the outlet? I took it out, and put the wires back the same way they came out. Power off by the way. The instructions on the new gfci stated it was simple. follow the diagram. Done now it does not work still, now what?



__________________
Remodeler is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2008, 01:27 PM  
travelover
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 693
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Remodeler View Post
Flamed, not by me. This is why I am asking the question. How would I know there was a problem if I did not change the outlet? I took it out, and put the wires back the same way they came out. Power off by the way. The instructions on the new gfci stated it was simple. follow the diagram. Done now it does not work still, now what?
Don't feel picked on. Speedy jumps on all the newbies.

I'd get a book out on home wiring at the library, it'll answer your more basic questions.


__________________
travelover is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2008, 02:12 PM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
 
inspectorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 3,906
Liked 82 Times on 71 Posts
Likes Given: 157

Default Ahhh

It may help if there are directions and pictures which came with the outlet box.
Any new GFCI recepticals will not work if the wires(line and load) are reversed.
Basically the old ones could work, like the one you removed, but the new ones will not.
After you fix this, please read a book on basic electricity and terminology if you are going to continue practicing electrical work without a licence.
You get in less trouble from know it all's along the way, myself included.
If that does not work, come on back and we will help as much as we can.

__________________

Just My
Made in the

inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2008, 02:18 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 427
Liked 26 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by travelover View Post
Don't feel picked on. Speedy jumps on all the newbies.
Yeah, that's what I do.
__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2008, 02:25 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,081
Liked 71 Times on 66 Posts
Likes Given: 50

Default

Power coming into the GFI is considered LINE power and gets attached to the lugs lableled LINE on the GFI.
Wires leaving the GFI are considered LOAD power and gets attached to the lugs labeled LOAD on the GFI (these lugs usually have tape over them from the factory indicating a protection warning if not installed properly).
The GFI will protect itself and anything hooked to the LOAD side of the receptacle.
If you only have one set of wires coming in then just hook them up to the LINE terminals and your done. If you have multiple wires then you have to determine which are the LOAD wires and which are the LINE (hot) wires and then wire it up per instructions.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2008, 08:04 PM  
triple D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 296
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default We can do this....

Since you have performed this work yourself, it is highly likely that you have a ground touching the neutral wire behind one of the two plugs that do not work. Remove the two non working plugs and inspect them for ground wire touching white wire where its bare, or touching screws. Count wires in boxes, hopefully there is two in the first, and one in the second. Anyway try that out and after you have both plugs out and hanging there, try to reset the gfi one more time. If this is to no avail, go and buy a power tester, or glow stick and check the wires at the gfi to verify that the line wires are indeed the line. Let us know what you found, we are curious of the solution. Good luck.....

__________________

[COLOR="DarkGreen"][FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"]See my work-Check out my album. "Git 'Er Done":D [/FONT][/COLOR]

triple D is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2008, 10:16 PM  
Remodeler
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
Default

Thanks to all of you so much for the advice. I will try and find out what is happening and let you know. I will get a book on electrical wiring. To Speedy Petey; I understand your dismay at my attempt. I am a licensed professional also, RNC,BSN. I just did what the box said to do by the diagram.

__________________
Remodeler is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2008, 10:33 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 427
Liked 26 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Remodeler View Post
To Speedy Petey; I understand your dismay at my attempt. I am a licensed professional also, RNC,BSN. I just did what the box said to do by the diagram.
Thank you for understanding and not taking it as a personal attack.


Listen, I cut myself pretty bad. How do I tie off the stitches so that they...........Aw, forget it.
__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2008, 10:08 AM  
Remodeler
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
Default

You were right. The outlet was wired wrong. I will leave the electrical to the electrician. I learned from this. Thank you for your help. Leave the stitches alone. Just keep them clean and dry until they are to be removed by the doctor. Thanks again.

__________________
Remodeler is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2008, 10:10 AM  
Remodeler
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
Default

Thank you to everybody that gave advice, I am really happy for the responses I got.



__________________

Last edited by Remodeler; 12-12-2008 at 12:03 PM.
Remodeler is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
High limit problem on Trane XE90 Garvey HVAC 1 11-10-2011 08:33 AM
Intermittent Problem with Decorative Low Voltage Fixture mman Electrical and Wiring 2 11-07-2008 06:00 AM
GFCI breaker problem a4rye Electrical and Wiring 3 09-26-2008 08:37 AM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w Windows and Doors 10 06-09-2008 07:15 AM
GFCI mystery fatman Electrical and Wiring 4 12-11-2007 09:08 PM