DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > GFCI Question - Christmas Lights




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-28-2011, 02:53 PM  
wildjuanpablo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
Default GFCI Question - Christmas Lights

Good afternoon!

First of all, let me explain the GFCI circuit in question. In my garage, I have a GFCI outlet, which is tied to the exterior outlet on my front porch. I recently had an electrician come in and tie a non-GFCI outlet to the GFCI outlet in my garage so I could have my outdoor refrigerator plugged into it and will stay on at all times.

Last night, I was in the process of putting Christmas lights out. I had 4 strands of C-9 lights (non-LED) plugged into the outlet on my front porch. With four strands (and my fridge), the GFCI pops. When I unplug one of the strands, it works fine and does not pop. I still have many more lights to plug in and this has never been an issue until after the fridge was tied into this circuit.

Is there anything I can do to help this? Would a new GFCI outlet in my garage help (maybe this one is wearing out)?

I am also toying around with the idea of adding a GFCI circuit to my circuit breaker panel and then installing a brand new GFCI outlet. That way, the only thing on this circuit would be Christmas lights.

Your opinions and advice are much appreciated!!

Thank you in advance!



__________________
wildjuanpablo is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2011, 03:21 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,137
Liked 92 Times on 81 Posts
Likes Given: 59

Default

Outlets in a garage MUST be GFCI or GFCI protected. I assume the new outlet added by the electrician is GFCI protected from the existing GFCI outlet.
A dedicated circuit would not be a bad idea but, a GFCI outlet does not take the place or serve the same purpose of a circuit breaker.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2011, 04:46 PM  
joecaption
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,360
Liked 37 Times on 32 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

It sounds like your thinking of having a GFI breaker (very expencive) and adding a new line running to just one GFI outlet. It will do 0 good to have 2 GFI's in line.
GFI's do not trip from an over loaded circut, they trip when there's a dead short or voltage leakage.
I'd have the fridge on a non GFI circut on it's own and just plug the lights into the GFI protected outlet.

__________________

Last edited by joecaption; 11-28-2011 at 08:04 PM.
joecaption is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Lets See Those Christmas Lights oldognewtrick General Chit-Chat 10 01-20-2011 01:24 AM
Merry Christmas oldognewtrick General Chit-Chat 12 12-28-2010 05:09 PM
GFCI Outlet Question Briyon Electrical and Wiring 6 11-15-2010 03:00 PM
Christmas Lights NOVA Pros Electrical and Wiring 1 12-19-2008 08:41 PM