DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > GFCI in series?





Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-19-2012, 01:06 PM  
IZZY
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7
Default GFCI in series?

I've got a fountain out front that's waiting for an electrical connection. I plan on taping power off a GFCI duplex recepticle in the garage, running 15 feet of conduit and installing an outdoor duplex GFCI recepticle on the exterior of the garage. I'll install a standard switch between them. I understand GFCIs are required for any outdoor application. My question is, will it be a problem connecting two GFCI recepticles in series?



__________________
IZZY is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2012, 02:09 PM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 7,741
Liked 544 Times on 492 Posts
Likes Given: 1000

Default

If you hook up to the load side of the first one, the outside plug would be protected, if you want two gfi, hook up to the line side and add pigtails to the that plug.



__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2012, 03:39 PM  
joecaption
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,359
Liked 36 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Far better to tap off of the load side and not install any GFI one the outside of the building. Far less to get false trips from moisture in the GFI.
Do you plan on running this fountian 24/7?
Trying to figure out why you would want a switch. The pump for the fountian will have a plug on the end of it that could be unpluged if service was needed.
A timer could be installed inside the garage that would shut it on and off to preset times if that's what your plan is.

__________________
joecaption is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2012, 05:20 PM  
donald73d
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Canaan, New York
Posts: 25
Default

Actually series is not the right term, nothing in hose wiring is in series always parallel. But in your case the outlets are in a string rather than more of a hub.

I agree, avoid the GFI outside.

__________________
donald73d is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2012, 11:25 PM  
IZZY
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks to all for the info.
> If I don't install a GFCI outside would I be busting code?
> Run 24/7? No. Haven't planned that out yet. Probably going to be random.
> Why a switch? The plug will be behind plants and bushes. Would be a PIA to unplug every day. Timer is a possibility.



__________________
IZZY is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Kenmore 70 Series washer jobeppo General Appliance Discussion 6 01-18-2012 07:23 PM
GFCI Query? tankertoad Electrical and Wiring 1 08-30-2010 10:31 AM
Same advice for a GE model GE3367X series 421? 24336D General Appliance Discussion 2 10-15-2009 07:42 AM
Buying a Kenmore refrigerator model # CYE3422AZW series 421 24336D General Appliance Discussion 3 10-14-2009 01:17 PM
World Series? spec_j General Chit-Chat 0 09-04-2009 12:50 AM