DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > GFI outdoor outlet won't reset




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-14-2012, 04:36 PM  
jaystanton
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
Default GFI outdoor outlet won't reset

Hi there,

I have a GFI outdoor outlet on my deck that won't reset. Push the button, it pops right back out. I have also reset the dedicated circuit breaker for this outlet several times but it doesn't fix it, the outlet still won't reset. Any idea how I can troubleshoot this? This is a brand new home with new everything. All other exterior GFI outlets reset normally (usually needs to be done after it rains). This one also used to work fine but suddenly stopped.

Thanks.



__________________
jaystanton is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-14-2012, 05:10 PM  
notmrjohn
Obnoxious Knowitalll
 
notmrjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 251
Liked 24 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

if a GFI won't reset it usually means you have a ground fault.
I especially don't like the "(usually needs to be done after it rains)" part. You have a major problem somewhere.

If you have to ask for advice on trouble shooting it may be beyond your experience level and could be quite dangerous. The simplest check would be to replace the GFI with a new one, making sure and doubly sure that the breaker for that outlet is off. You need to check the leads to outlet since outlet itself is off.

Some of the tests are going to be in main breaker box, and some with power on, so without knowing your experience, I can't make any suggestions.

I repeat that the need to reset GFI's after rain is extremly troubling, and indicates problems that add to danger in trouble shooting.



__________________

[CENTER][FONT=Comic Sans MS]Measure twice, cut once.[/FONT][/CENTER]
[CENTER][FONT=Comic Sans MS]Look at the nail, not the hammer. Watch the fence, not the blade.[/FONT][/CENTER]
[CENTER][FONT=Comic Sans MS]If you hook your thumb over your belt you won't hit it with the hammer or leave it layin on the saw table.[/FONT][/CENTER]

notmrjohn is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-14-2012, 05:15 PM  
Wuzzat?
Senior Member
 
Wuzzat?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,109
Liked 126 Times on 114 Posts
Likes Given: 72

Default

You can check the insulation resistance of your wet cabling up to several hundred megohms with almost any DVM and one or more 9v batteries.
You're looking for 20 to 100 Kilo-ohms between the hot lead and the ground lead of the cable downstream of the GFCI if this is the reason your GFCI is tripping.

No cable downstream? Sometimes no power or incorrect wiring to the GFCI has it refusing to stay latched.

It is insensitive to leaky cables upstream of it.

__________________

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 10-14-2012 at 06:24 PM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-15-2012, 06:38 AM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 914
Liked 85 Times on 71 Posts

Default

Turn off the breaker for this receptacle and remove and inspect it. I have seen them full off bugs. Even if they are dead a bit of water will be enough to cause the GFCI to trip.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-15-2012, 08:42 AM  
notmrjohn
Obnoxious Knowitalll
 
notmrjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 251
Liked 24 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

With breakers off swap the non-resetting GFI with one that is working on another circuit. If the swap resets, and first one does not work in new spot the original GFI is bad . If both now work original was improperly wired.
If original works in new spot but swap out does not, there is wiring problem in that circuit.

Once you get that GFI sorted out, find out why rain trips them. They or other outdoor outlets on circuits may not be protected from rain, they should all be in outdoor rated boxes with covers on unused outlets. They may just be too close to ground level, getting splashed on or receiving direct rain fall. If there is something you leave permanently plugged in, consider hardwiring it inside a weather proof box.

__________________

[CENTER][FONT=Comic Sans MS]Measure twice, cut once.[/FONT][/CENTER]
[CENTER][FONT=Comic Sans MS]Look at the nail, not the hammer. Watch the fence, not the blade.[/FONT][/CENTER]
[CENTER][FONT=Comic Sans MS]If you hook your thumb over your belt you won't hit it with the hammer or leave it layin on the saw table.[/FONT][/CENTER]

notmrjohn is offline  
TxBuilder Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-15-2012, 08:57 AM  
Wuzzat?
Senior Member
 
Wuzzat?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,109
Liked 126 Times on 114 Posts
Likes Given: 72

Default

Yes, there should be a gasket in the box that keeps out rain. Maybe it was left out of this one box.

And with notmrjohn's swap method you don't have to gamble $15 for a new GFCI.

__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-17-2012, 07:20 AM  
Housedoctor57
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 40
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

If you still have the issue, turn the breaker off, disconnect the LOAD wires if they are present, these wires lead to any downstream connections. Turn power back on and try to reset the GFIC. If it resets the problem is not the GFIC normally (95%). The problem is with the circuit downstream (LOAD). If you have no LOAD wires connected and just the wires to the LINE you have a bad GFIC.

__________________
Housedoctor57 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-17-2012, 09:42 AM  
jaystanton
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Excellent, thanks so much for your responses!

__________________
jaystanton is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-23-2012, 05:20 AM  
Bjstottler
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Default

I've had this problem before, new houses go up very quickly these days. Go into your service panel and check all your grounds and neutrals are all TIGHT! , good time to even check all wire to each breaker. GFCI will not work without a gnd.

__________________
Bjstottler is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-23-2012, 08:50 AM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 8,779
Liked 646 Times on 579 Posts
Likes Given: 1153

Default

Bjstottler: Hey welcome to the site. GFCI do work with out ground.



__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI will not reset imadns Electrical and Wiring 3 12-23-2011 02:09 PM
GFCI Breaker Won't Reset LSUCoonie Electrical and Wiring 4 06-17-2011 10:06 AM
GFI Won't Reset Goose Electrical and Wiring 5 02-17-2008 05:41 PM
Compressor reset? shovelshort HVAC 2 06-21-2007 12:31 PM
How do you reset the toliet? Randy General Home Improvement Discussion 3 12-09-2005 04:12 PM