DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > grounding breaker panel




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-24-2010, 04:09 PM  
fuzzman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Default grounding breaker panel

I recently looked in my breaker panel and noticed that the nuetral and ground wires are connected to the same bar, i have heard that that is ok unless this is at a sub panel. my house has all cpvc plumbing. can someone tell me how my breaker panel should be grounded. as it stands i see no #4 bare copper hooked up to the grounding panel but my recepticle tester function properly.



__________________
fuzzman is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-25-2010, 11:25 PM  
triple D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 296
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default rods.....

is your entire house plastic plumbing including main line coming in? if so you should have two ground rods outside, with a #6 copper to them from neutral bar.



__________________

[COLOR="DarkGreen"][FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"]See my work-Check out my album. "Git 'Er Done":D [/FONT][/COLOR]

triple D is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2010, 01:51 AM  
fuzzman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Default

no i have access to my water supply line coming in to the house it is copper my question is do i need to run my ground from the neutral/ground bar to the water supply inlet or a ground fromn water supply inlet to ground rod

__________________

Fuzzman

fuzzman is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2010, 06:26 AM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 445
Liked 39 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fuzzman View Post
no i have access to my water supply line coming in to the house it is copper my question is do i need to run my ground from the neutral/ground bar to the water supply inlet or a ground fromn water supply inlet to ground rod
First off, please try to write in sentences. It is hard to read the way you are writing. Thanks.


If the main line coming into the house is metallic you must connect to this pipe within ' of where it enters the house. This wire originates at the neutral/ground bar of your service. You would typically use a #4cu for 200A and #8cu for 100A.


The reason your tester works is because these grounding electrode wires have NOTHING to do with grounding the circuits in your house. This is a different thing entirely.
A circuit "ground" comes from the neutral to ground bond in your main panel in the form of a neutral bonding jumper which is installed when the service is installed.
__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2010, 08:32 AM  
triple D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 296
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default 5 feet

what did'nt show up in speedy's post is the number 5 before the 'symbol. you must be within 5' of the foundation or slab (where the pipe enters the building line) when you hook to water line. And you will also need the grnd rods I spoke of. Good luck.....

__________________

[COLOR="DarkGreen"][FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"]See my work-Check out my album. "Git 'Er Done":D [/FONT][/COLOR]

triple D is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2010, 11:26 AM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 445
Liked 39 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Yeah, that's weird. I swore it was there in the preview.
Thanks DDD.

__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2010, 07:10 PM  
fuzzman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Thank you Triple and Petey for all of the great information. I understand what needs to be done.
Thanks again



__________________

Fuzzman

fuzzman is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Breaker panel install jmac Electrical and Wiring 3 11-29-2009 01:55 AM
Grounding new service entrance Dan K Electrical and Wiring 3 10-17-2009 03:36 AM
Exterior breaker panel for adding a barn jayhalfpipe Electrical and Wiring 3 11-01-2008 10:35 AM
Grounding Garage Imacarguytoo Electrical and Wiring 2 10-20-2008 07:38 PM
Service/breaker panel capacity question... tenderton Electrical and Wiring 1 10-13-2006 05:08 AM