DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Having trouble wiring thermostat




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-29-2006, 03:23 PM  
swinny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Default Having trouble wiring thermostat

I recently bought a new digital Honeywell line-voltage thermostat to replace my current one. The thermostat controls one 240V wall heater. I'm having some trouble because the wiring is different on the new one compared to the old one (and Honeywell doesn't provide adequate directions for an idiot like me).

This is my current thermostat and wiring:

http://www.uploaddress.com//files/855/current1.jpg
http://www.uploaddress.com//files/855/current2.jpg

Although the photo doesn't show it, the red wire from the thermostat is wire-nutted to two black wires, the black wire from the thermostat is connected to another single black wire.

Okay, so here is my new thermostat:

http://www.uploaddress.com//files/855/new.jpg

A helpful person on Usenet gave me the following advice:

Unless the thermostat does something "intelligent" to monitor load, you
should be able to treat the new thermostat as a single pole switch, same
as your old one. This would switch only one side of your heater,
leaving the other hot all the time.

Take the single black wire connected to the black thermostat wire, and
hook it up to the inner black wire. Insulate the end of the outer black
wire--this will be live when the heat is on.

Split the two black wires hooked to the old red wire, connect the one
going to the heater with the outer red wire, and the one going to the
supply to the inner red wire.


I tried this, and the thermostat turns on fine, and "clicks" to show it's turning the heat on. The problem is that the heat doesn't come on. Does anyone have any other ideas I could try?



__________________
swinny is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-29-2006, 03:50 PM  
swinny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Disregard the previous post. We got it figured out!

__________________
swinny is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-29-2006, 09:08 PM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Yea for Swinny!You got it worked out on your own; now you have an experience to share with the next person who has trouble. Experience is a hard teacher but very rewarding when you pass the test.
It looks like the old t-stat was a single pole switch and the new one is a double pole. Congratulations on a job well done.
Glenn
__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat or furnace problem? dakuda HVAC 8 01-02-2010 03:05 PM
Electric Heat Pump & Programmable Thermostat John Greeb HVAC 2 01-09-2009 09:01 PM
Thermostat Installation jeff7 HVAC 3 01-22-2007 09:31 AM
Thermostat wiring Question Hippie HVAC 4 12-03-2006 08:01 AM
One thermostat works, the other doesn't churley702 HVAC 1 11-22-2006 08:27 AM