DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Help with rewiring light fixtures to switches




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-10-2013, 08:34 AM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 920
Liked 88 Times on 73 Posts

Default

If you have power entering fixture A then you need 14/3 cable to the switch box in order to make fixture B work.



__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2013, 10:10 AM  
BSB74
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 10
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Thanks Joe. So if the power source is entering Light Fixture B, I then run 14/3 cable from Light Fixture B to Light Switch B? Would I also have to run 14/3 cable from Light Switch A to Light Fixture A? How would the wiring be inside the 3 gang switch box so there is power to both the light switches and operate separately? Thanks again, got myself in a mess now lol.



__________________
BSB74 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2013, 10:26 AM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 8,984
Liked 687 Times on 615 Posts
Likes Given: 1210

Default

Your drawing shows the switches side by side in the first room. if that's what you want you need the 14/3 but if the switch is in the other room you will just change some connections in light B and add the switch to light A

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2013, 11:20 AM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 920
Liked 88 Times on 73 Posts

Default

NO
The 14/3 is used as follows.
At the fixture A box
Black is unswitched power to the switch. It should connect to the black power feed from the box.
Red is switched power coming back from the switch. Connect it to the black from the light
White is neutral. Connect all the whites together.

At the switch box.

Connect a two pigtails to the black and connect one each to the two switches. This is the power feed to both switches.
Connect all the white together.
Connect the red to the switch for fixture A. This is the switched power going back to fixture A.

The cable for fixture B should have the white connected with all the other whites and the black connected to the second terminal on the second switch.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2013, 11:49 AM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 8,984
Liked 687 Times on 615 Posts
Likes Given: 1210

Default

Joe, power comes to light B, goes to the switch and back up to light B and then continues on to light A . So in the box for light B he can change the wire from the switched wire to the power source.
This gives continues power to the Light A and a new wire running to the new switch A. What he missed is the black to white connection in the box for light A. He may not understand , there is no nuetral in a swtch leg.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2013, 11:55 AM  
BSB74
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 10
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Thanks for posts guys. Yes nealtw, the switches will be in the same box together, but separately control each light independently. So I can run 14/3 cable from Light Fixture B (where power source enters) back to light switch box. Would the cable running from Light Switch A to Light Fixture A have to be 14/3 also or just 14/2 cable? Then basicly just wire up the light switches in the box and I should be good. Sorry for being such a newbie with this stuff and again thanks for the advise guys.

__________________
BSB74 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2013, 12:57 PM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 8,984
Liked 687 Times on 615 Posts
Likes Given: 1210

Default

This picture has the 14/3 that Joe suggested, which is fine but notice it does not have a wire between the two lights. If you have a new wire from light a back to the switch box you can use what you have. The wire that runs between the two boxes wants to be disconnected from the where it is in box B and connected to the ps wire in that box. Now you have to light boxes each with a power source In both boxes a white wire goes to the light from the power source, In both boxes the black of the switch wire is connected to the power souce, the white from the switch wire is marked black with tape and connected to the other side of the light. In the swtch box each wire has a white and black to it's own switch and is not connected together in any way other than ground.

joes-wires.png  
__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2013, 02:00 PM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 920
Liked 88 Times on 73 Posts

Default

Quote:
Joe, power comes to light B, goes to the switch and back up to light B and then continues on to light A . So in the box for light B he can change the wire from the switched wire to the power source.
Then you need to use the white to bring power to the switches and the red and black for the two switched power lines back from the switches.
__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2013, 02:27 PM  
BSB74
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 10
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Thanks fellas, can't wait to give this a shot. I might have to wait a couple days to try though, I'll see. I'll post back and let you know how things went.

__________________
BSB74 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2013, 02:30 PM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 8,984
Liked 687 Times on 615 Posts
Likes Given: 1210

Default

Pick one, go with what Joe suggested or with what I suggested, don't try to mix the two.



__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
2 switches, 1 light rdcorle Electrical and Wiring 2 01-31-2012 04:49 PM
Two light fixtures on three-way switch. Lights are dimmed. RustyNail Electrical and Wiring 3 10-23-2011 07:01 AM
Rewiring Light Fixtures..odd old Setup suboveryde Electrical and Wiring 1 10-29-2010 01:05 PM
Rewiring Fan/Light combos to 2 switches Zachary Electrical and Wiring 1 12-02-2009 06:52 AM
New Light Fixtures bring Smells smaihlee Electrical and Wiring 4 03-29-2007 08:30 PM