DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Help with tripping electrics




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-23-2008, 03:31 AM  
juddy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default Help with tripping electrics

Hi all, i have a problem that is really bugging me.

My Sockets up stairs keep on tripping the breaker. i've maaged to isolate it to one room but haven't added any new items to the room for at least 6 months. When i switch off the power to the upstairs sockets the eelectricity in the house is fine, its only when the sockets upstairs are on it trips the breaker every hour or even quicker.

Ihave recently added a new home entertainment system to the down stair front room and was wondering if thid was some how putting to much drain on the system and consequently when anything is turned on upstairs it is simply to much for the system to handle.

I had the electrics completely re wired and everyting in january as my house is a refurb.

Any suggestions and reasons for the problem?

Juddy



__________________
juddy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-23-2008, 04:48 AM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 444
Liked 39 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

What is plugged in upstairs? What is the load on the circuit?

Is the breaker an arc-fault breaker?



__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-23-2008, 05:01 AM  
juddy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Not sure of the load or if it is an arc fault breaker. The breaker is sectioned off for the differetn parts of the house. i.e sockets upstairs, sockets down stairs, lights etc.

The only things plugged in upstairs are in my bedroom: two lamps, Phone and a small TV

__________________
juddy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-23-2008, 08:39 AM  
spaz2965
Member
 
spaz2965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Jefferson, York county pa
Posts: 84
Default

sounds like either breaker might be bad or something has made a wire bare. hopefully Pete will be of better help.

__________________
spaz2965 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-24-2008, 12:18 AM  
triple D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 296
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default how about......

Is it tripping a 15 or 20 amp breaker? or the main breaker? Are the upstairs bedroom and the entertainment system the only thing that dont work when the breaker trips or is there more things on that circuit? I would say if the problem started with the arrival of the t.v., you should have your local electrician back to wire a dedicated circuit to your entertainment center. Good luck with your adventure.

__________________

[COLOR="DarkGreen"][FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"]See my work-Check out my album. "Git 'Er Done":D [/FONT][/COLOR]

triple D is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-24-2008, 04:48 AM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 444
Liked 39 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Juddy,

Quote:
Originally Posted by juddy View Post
two lamps, Phone and a small TV
......will NOT trip a breaker. I don't care if this is a 120" TV. Besides, you say the downstairs circuits are not affected. The entertainment center has nothing to do with it.

Either there is way more plugged in than you know; or there is a problem with the wiring somewhere; or this is an AFCI breaker that is nuisance tripping.

What does "I had the electrics completely re wired and everyting" mean???
Was this whole area really rewired, or was it just renovated?
Were new circuits run, or was the old wiring reused?
Do the breakers for this area have little test buttons on them?
__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-24-2008, 08:57 AM  
juddy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default

I agree that the lamp etc will not trip the breaker. So it must be the wiring!

And just to reitterate, the down stairs lights, sockets and upstairs lights are fine when i switch the up stairs sockets are switch off at the consumer unit.

The house has had new wires, new consumer unit, new breakers. the whole area was re wired. i took he place back to brick work and then brought it forward. new circuits were run.

No test buttons on the breakers just the basic switches when i know something has tripped.

Thanks for your help, it really bugging me.

__________________
juddy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-24-2008, 12:57 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 444
Liked 39 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Oooohhhhh. You are in the UK.

I don't think you have AFCI breakers there yet.

I would strongly suggest you get someone in there to check it out.



__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
GFI and Circuit keep tripping trythis Electrical and Wiring 3 04-07-2008 10:39 PM
GFI Tripping and troubleshooting jwar Electrical and Wiring 4 02-08-2008 09:14 AM
ICP HeatPump Tripping Outside Breaker dplusm2004 HVAC 5 04-19-2007 08:46 PM