DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Here's a good one




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-13-2006, 07:10 AM  
akradar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 16
Default Here's a good one

I have an older home with attached garage. I keep the freezer out there, and it was plugged into an outlet. I came home from fishing (caught a couple HUGE halibut) and the freezer was off. Checked all the usual and went to replace the fuse at the panel. Unscrewed old, screwed in new, same type and amp rating. Pop! Tried again, and pop. Now I got flashbulb-eyes, and fish that needs to be frozen. Got the fish stored and all, and ran a temp cord to the house inside. Problem is this. There are NO other connections except this freezer and another outlet that are on this run. I disconnected the final receptacle in the run, but no help. I checked for voltage in the freezer outlet and got a real minimal reading with the fuse pulled from the box. I thought it should be zero. What could be causing this?



__________________
akradar is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-13-2006, 02:34 PM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Hello AKRadar:
Yes the outlet should show zero voltage. The only thing I can think of is that there may be a common, common on 2 circuts and the other one is back feeding through the one that's turned off. When electricity is being used from a cable both the black and white wire will have current on them. Let us know how it turns out.
Glenn



__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-13-2006, 03:05 PM  
petey_racer
Licensed Electrician
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 105
Default

If you are using a digital meter you may very well be getting a reading. This is phantom voltage and is not real. It is induced from other sources.

Did you take apart the other receptacle on that circuit yet?

__________________

Please post back and let us know how it turns out....

petey_racer is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-13-2006, 06:02 PM  
akradar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 16
Default

Yeah, actually I went to bare wires on the far end. (then capped them) Still no real answer on the mystery. With nothing plugged in, I still pop fuses. WTH? There are only 2 boxes on this circuit and I took them both off line.

__________________

[FONT="Comic Sans MS"][SIZE="3"]If God didn't want us to eat animals, why did He make them out of meat?[/SIZE][/FONT]

akradar is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
is this a good price for heatpump shan2themax HVAC 6 06-14-2008 06:56 PM
Help Finding Good Steel Building Company spaker General Home Improvement Discussion 5 02-04-2008 09:41 AM
good wood cabinet cleaner? fartman General Home Improvement Discussion 3 10-31-2007 05:54 AM
Need good 2 story shed/play house design Trapaddict Roofing and Siding 1 05-18-2006 02:40 PM