DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Hot Tub Hook Up Questions




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-24-2007, 01:16 PM  
aguamarina4u
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
Default Hot Tub Hook Up Questions

Hi Board, (location - California)

We are anticipating the delivery of our Hot Spring
Envoy SPA and planning the electrical work.

The owners manual states that the waterproof conduit
connects to the IQ 2020 control panel using a 3/4"
liquid tight flex conduit fittings. The cable run
(through water tight plastic conduit) between the GFCI
30/20A breaker box and the IQ 2020 requires four #10
AWG wires and two #12 AWG cables, the local code
states that the conduit cannot be filled by more than
40%.

So my questions are:

1) Would these 6 wires occupy < 40% of a 3/4" conduit?
(I was planning to use 1" conduit but am concerned
that I will have a problem connecting it to the SPA)

2) What size conduit have other Hot Spring owners
used?

3) Is there some kind of waterproof reducer I can use
to get down to the 3/4" size that the control box
calls for or will a 1" conduit also fit the IQ 2020
controller?

4) We plan to use THHN cable in the watertight
conduit, I read that multi strand is best for this
application because its compressible when you tighten
down the screws, is this good information?

5) We plan to use 6/3 Romax cable for the run from the
main breaker box to the GFCI 30/20A breaker box, does
anyone know what gauge the solid earth wire is on this
type of cable? (the Hot Spring spec calls for #10
AWG).

Many thanks in advance...appreciate any reply :-)



__________________
aguamarina4u is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-24-2007, 02:38 PM  
petey_racer
Licensed Electrician
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 105
Default

Considering you legally fit 10 - #10THHN conductors in 3/4" Liquidtite, your seven is fine.

The rest of your plan seems fine as well.
6/3NM has a #10 ground.

Remember, you can ONLY use the NM cable for the inside wiring portion of this circuit.

__________________

Please post back and let us know how it turns out....

petey_racer is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Redesign pantry and laundry room questions harleysilo General Home Improvement Discussion 13 01-05-2009 06:54 AM
Some Ceramic Tile questions Will1987 Flooring 5 06-05-2007 12:48 PM
Kitchen wiring questions! Quattro Electrical and Wiring 5 01-30-2007 07:36 AM
Questions after a home rewire Pastey Electrical and Wiring 5 01-03-2007 11:13 AM