DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > how to connect zone valve to thermostat and transistor ?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-04-2012, 12:12 PM  
acproblem
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 20
Default how to connect zone valve to thermostat and transistor ?

I have a problem to connect the thermostat/transistor wires to upper part of the zone valve (the picture with a red circle). I needed to replace the valve as it was leaking water. Now the new valve is on and the new cap is on ..however the wires are still dangling there ;-))
There is one wire coming from transistor - red wire
There are 3 wires coming from termostat (red, black and white). My termostat is heat only (I am heating running hot water in baseboards) so I am not sure the black wire is to be used. Can somebody pls let me know which screw of the valve cap I shall connect the wires to?. Maintenance guy told me if I do it wrong .. I might fry some part in new valve cap or termostat. Thanks a lot for your help



img_20120101_144131.jpg   img_20120102_113538.jpg   img_20120101_144043v.jpg  
__________________
acproblem is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-04-2012, 12:39 PM  
paul52446m
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houghton Lake, Mi.
Posts: 435
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default how to connect zone valve to thermostat and transistor ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by acproblem View Post
I have a problem to connect the thermostat/transistor wires to upper part of the zone valve (the picture with a red circle). I needed to replace the valve as it was leaking water. Now the new valve is on and the new cap is on ..however the wires are still dangling there ;-))
There is one wire coming from transistor - red wire
There are 3 wires coming from termostat (red, black and white). My termostat is heat only (I am heating running hot water in baseboards) so I am not sure the black wire is to be used. Can somebody pls let me know which screw of the valve cap I shall connect the wires to?. Maintenance guy told me if I do it wrong .. I might fry some part in new valve cap or termostat. Thanks a lot for your help
You only need the one from the transformer and two from the stat, as long as that zone valve is spring loaded return. I can't see the letters on the valve, can you tell me what they are? Paul


__________________
paul52446m is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-04-2012, 12:45 PM  
acproblem
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul52446m View Post
You only need the one from the transformer and two from the stat, as long as that zone valve is spring loaded return. I can't see the letters on the valve, can you tell me what they are? Paul
it is a Taco 571-2
<-- (one way)
__________________
acproblem is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-04-2012, 02:21 PM  
acproblem
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by acproblem View Post
it is a Taco 571-2
<-- (one way)
I am adding the wiring instructions...there are 2 t-formers though ...2 zones ?
untitled.jpg  
__________________
acproblem is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-04-2012, 02:47 PM  
paul52446m
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houghton Lake, Mi.
Posts: 435
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by acproblem View Post
I am adding the wiring instructions...there are 2 t-formers though ...2 zones ?
Did they use all the wires before? Look at you stat and which wires are tied in there? Paul
__________________
paul52446m is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-04-2012, 03:27 PM  
acproblem
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul52446m View Post
Did they use all the wires before? Look at you stat and which wires are tied in there? Paul
I do not think so the black was used at all - it is heat only thermostat. I have put new thermostat. I also think 1 wire from transistor is missing...normally tranasistor should have 2 wires correct ?
__________________
acproblem is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-04-2012, 04:45 PM  
paul52446m
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houghton Lake, Mi.
Posts: 435
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by acproblem View Post
I do not think so the black was used at all - it is heat only thermostat. I have put new thermostat. I also think 1 wire from transistor is missing...normally tranasistor should have 2 wires correct ?
If it is red and white going to stat, put red from transformer to post 2 on the zone head, put red from stat to the other post of the transformer, put white from stat on post one of the zone head.
__________________
paul52446m is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-04-2012, 09:26 PM  
acproblem
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul52446m View Post
If it is red and white going to stat, put red from transformer to post 2 on the zone head, put red from stat to the other post of the transformer, put white from stat on post one of the zone head.
thanks. so I shall connect the following way ?
img_20120104_220257.jpg  
__________________
acproblem is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-04-2012, 09:30 PM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 920
Liked 88 Times on 73 Posts

Default

It's not a transistor. Stop calling it that. It is a transformer.

These are transistors, at least the bottom row is.

__________________

Last edited by JoeD; 01-04-2012 at 09:35 PM.
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-04-2012, 09:33 PM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 920
Liked 88 Times on 73 Posts

Default

That diagram would certainly turn on the valve. But what turns on the heat? There is more to the system than just the valve and thermostat.



__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
An Old Taco Zone Valve rmmagow HVAC 1 01-07-2013 12:00 PM
Zone valve wiring Taco milbry18 Plumbing Forum 11 11-15-2011 11:49 AM
Hot water heat: zone doesn't run unless another zone is also calling for heat operagost HVAC 4 11-11-2011 11:41 AM
Connect Honeywell RTH8500 D Thermostat to Trane XE90 Fitmiss HVAC 1 11-02-2011 05:17 PM
zone valve stopped working marie38 Plumbing Forum 2 07-28-2007 05:43 AM