DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > how to thermal heat switch




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-12-2014, 07:10 PM  
gghrt000
Member
Projects
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 99
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default how to thermal heat switch

while I was painting a while ago, I did not bother to remove or cover the thermal heat switch now bearing the fruit. Once all the job done half-painted those switches are an eyesore. I am wondering whether these are removable. I looked around no screws it looks like it might be removeable to stretching the side and bottom a bit. But before I do, I just wanted to ask around.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/winttl8onifog7p/IMG_20140712_175852.jpg
https://www.dropbox.com/s/winttl8onifog7p/IMG_20140712_175852.jpg



__________________

Last edited by gghrt000; 07-12-2014 at 07:15 PM.
gghrt000 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-12-2014, 07:58 PM  
bud16415
Fixer Upper
 
bud16415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Erie Pa, Pa
Posts: 1,175
Liked 332 Times on 266 Posts
Likes Given: 110

Default

Yep the cover snaps off. What you should have done was cover it with painters tape before you started.


Sent from my iPhone using Home Repair



__________________
bud16415 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-12-2014, 08:02 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,185
Liked 105 Times on 92 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

pop em' off and soak them in hot water. the paint should come off with a little scrubbing.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-20-2014, 07:45 PM  
gghrt000
Member
Projects
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 99
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

ok i got them popped off. I also slid open the revolving know and what is behind was a main unit into which 5 wires 2red+2black and one ground wires plugged in. Yesterday went to homedepo and what they have is completely different shapes and sizes than mine. Mine is quite old revolving knob switch probably original installed unit when it is built back in 1990. The ones in store was much more advanced programmable units. I am not sure those will work. I will do some research on this one. If I find a suitable unit in terms of wiring and approximate size, I would much rather replace the old unit as it is looking very dirty now.
THis is what i see for wiring harness diagram behind the plastic casing (also pic included)


NON-INDUCTIVE RATING
D22 125/250/277 VAC
22AMPS DOUBLE POLE
WIRING DIAGRAM

2 red wire going from STAT to LINE
2 black wire going from STAT to LOAD


Thanks,

File Type: jpg IMG_20140720_182358.jpg (23.2 KB, 30 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20140720_183010.jpg (22.6 KB, 29 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20140720_183152.jpg (20.4 KB, 30 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20140720_185034.jpg (60.3 KB, 36 views)
__________________

Last edited by gghrt000; 07-20-2014 at 07:49 PM.
gghrt000 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-20-2014, 09:28 PM  
gghrt000
Member
Projects
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 99
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

actually i find a bunch of them in the homedepot. the ones resembling mine with rectangle shapes has a 120/240 rating instead of 125/250/277VAC with the current one. Wonder if this make a big difference.
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Cadet-Double-Pole-22-Amp-120-240-Volt-Wall-Mount-Mechanical-Non-programmable-Thermostat-in-White-T410B-W/202502063?N=5yc1vZc4ltZ1z135q8

__________________
gghrt000 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-20-2014, 09:34 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,919
Liked 814 Times on 727 Posts
Likes Given: 1407

Default

That will work, just make sure it is double pole when you pick it up.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2014, 10:31 AM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gghrt000 View Post
NON-INDUCTIVE RATING
Which implies that the load is resistive - no coils, no motors, no tungsten filaments, all of which wear out switch contacts rapidly.

At 240 v, 22A gives you a max load of 5300w. If your heater nameplate shows less watts you can go smaller on the switch and maybe save some bucks. 16A, 3800w seems to be next smaller choice.
__________________

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 07-21-2014 at 10:39 AM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2014, 01:24 PM  
gghrt000
Member
Projects
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 99
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

i see, i will have to take a look at the heater. there are two one in the living room and another in the bedroom. Since i live in a cali state, rarely need to use the heater, during winter I turn it on so much never even close to max. It is probably going to be ok then..

__________________
gghrt000 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2014, 02:44 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

Yes, intermittent use at below max heat = long switch life.

__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2014, 08:02 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,919
Liked 814 Times on 727 Posts
Likes Given: 1407

Default

Check the size of the breakers

Yes, intermittent use at below max heat = long switch life.

Switch is either on or off, so max heat whenever it is on.

Breakers maybe a little light for the amount of amps because they are continues use and no big start like a motor.



__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone have experience with Geo Thermal for heating and cooling rackit HVAC 1 10-16-2012 09:24 PM
Thermal Relief Valve Daddytron Plumbing Forum 8 02-11-2012 08:51 AM
thermal windows Papakoi Windows and Doors 2 05-01-2009 01:47 AM