DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > how to thermal heat switch




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-21-2014, 08:11 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

My bad. Didn't look closely at dial markings.



__________________

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 07-21-2014 at 08:16 PM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2014, 08:15 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,766
Liked 802 Times on 715 Posts
Likes Given: 1362

Default

I did get to read it before you pulled it.



__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2014, 08:18 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nealtw View Post
I did get to read it before you pulled it.
Yeah, I assumed it was 0 to 100% power using a bimetallic element, like a stove control.
__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2014, 08:47 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,766
Liked 802 Times on 715 Posts
Likes Given: 1362

Default

Yeah, no, if you set it at 72 it may start at 70 and turn off at 73 but they are just on, off. Older stoves worked the same way
http://applianceassistant.com/Range-Stove-Repair/How-Electric-Ovens-Work.php

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-22-2014, 12:33 AM  
gghrt000
Member
Projects
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 99
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Ok I am just getting ready to install. I will look through later threads after installation .
It appears from cover back diagram two red lines are from LINE and two black is to the LOAD which is the actual heater. Does it matter if either two of the blacks are switched or two red lines for LINES are switched???

On the newer one, there are marking L1 L2 T1 T2 however no such markings whatsoever anywhere on old one. Only thing I can see on old one is red/black color coding. This should be a last help! Thanks,

__________________
gghrt000 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-22-2014, 07:11 AM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,766
Liked 802 Times on 715 Posts
Likes Given: 1362

Default

Usually 1 red and 1 black come from the breaker and the same go to the heater. With some kind of continuity tester you can find which is the heater. A meter a test liught , make something out of a flash light.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-22-2014, 07:31 AM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gghrt000 View Post
two red lines
two black
either two of the blacks are switched or two red lines for LINES are switched???
As many times as I have treated the same color wires the same, by now certainly I would have had some bad outcomes if the same color meant different things.
__________________

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 07-22-2014 at 07:43 AM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-22-2014, 02:03 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,766
Liked 802 Times on 715 Posts
Likes Given: 1362

Default

__________________
nealtw is offline  
gghrt000 Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2014, 11:43 PM  
gghrt000
Member
Projects
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 99
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

thanks nealtw, watched the video it gave me an important reminder to turn off the fuse, i was going to do it on live wire!!
After looking at video i also found important difference between old and new one.
On old one, both red ones are going to LINE and two black are going to THERMOSTAT.
I can see because two reds are connected to black and white one lumped together from the wall.
That is also what the diagram on the old thermostat's cap shows:


Now NEW one completely different and is similar to video, one black (L1) and one red (L2) one going to LINE and other black (T1) and red (T2) one going to LOAD. I can see it is marked on the unit and this is how I am going to connect the unit:

L2 - red (line) - white from LINE
L1 - black (line) - black from LINE

T1 - red (load, thermostat) - white from LOAD
T2 - black (load, thermostat) - black from LOAD.


i hope this will not blow up the building..!!

File Type: jpg IMG_20140803_223739.jpg (49.7 KB, 10 views)
__________________

Last edited by gghrt000; 08-03-2014 at 11:48 PM.
gghrt000 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-04-2014, 12:34 AM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,766
Liked 802 Times on 715 Posts
Likes Given: 1362

Default

Have you been able to figure which pair is line and which is load?



__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone have experience with Geo Thermal for heating and cooling rackit HVAC 1 10-16-2012 09:24 PM
Thermal Relief Valve Daddytron Plumbing Forum 8 02-11-2012 08:51 AM
thermal windows Papakoi Windows and Doors 2 05-01-2009 01:47 AM