DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Im stumped please help




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-21-2008, 06:07 PM  
Phatboy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 194
Default Im stumped please help

I am renovating my kitchen, and I need to use a 4 gang switch box. It will control:

1. 3 6in can lights
2. two main overhead lights
3. one outside porch light
4. one run of above cabinet rope lights

Now I have no problem wiring one switch or an outlet, and have even sucessfully wired up a 2 gang box, but this is above my head. There is one supply line(10/2). Four switches that only have one set of connections, a neutral, load, ground. There are no terminals for tailing off to another switch. Four lines going out to said lighting.

I know all the grounds have to get connected. There will be 9 total, so Im thinking one bundle of 4 wires and one of 5 connected with a pigtail. After that Im lost. Please help, and a diagram if you know of one would be wonderfull.



__________________
Phatboy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-21-2008, 06:34 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 431
Liked 28 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

I have to honestly say, if something like this is that far over your head you may want to have someone come in and help you.

There are NO "stock" diagrams. Someone would have to draw it for you unless it happened to be done already and is posted somewhere on the web.
This is not that hard, but putting it into words can be.

Basically all the grounds go together with a tail to each switch.
All the neutrals OF RELATED CIRCUITS are spliced together.
All the hot feeds OF RELATED CIRCUITS are spliced together with a tail to the top screw of each single pole switch.
Each of the four switch legs goes to the bottom of it's own switch.

Questions:
1) WHY do you have a 10/2 in this box?????
2) WHY do you have NINE grounds????
3) What do you mean by the switches having "a neutral, load, ground"???? Switches DO NOT switch the neutral.



__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-21-2008, 06:46 PM  
Phatboy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 194
Default

Well Im guessin Im talkin out of my ***. I really dont know all the terminology. I will have my brother(electrician)over to help me, I was just trying to get a better understanding.

The 10/2 is what was already there and is only for supply. I will be using something smaller like 14/2 from the switches to the fixtures.

I figured 9 grounds like this.

1 from the main
4 on the switches
4 from the wires from the fixtures.

Refer to above for #3 question.

__________________
Phatboy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2008, 12:47 AM  
Square Eye
Senior Member
 
Square Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,273
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Connect all neutrals together.

Pigtail 4 wires onto the supply hot, connect one to each switch.

For the ground, I would connect all of the ground wires together with one pigtail then connect 4 pigtails to that wire (you'll have 2 bundles with 5 wires in a bundle under each single wire nut that way). Attach one grounded pigtail to each switch.

Attach the hot from each fixture to the proper switch.

Not a big deal.

__________________

[URL="http://www.houserepairtalk.com/announcement.php?f=39&a=6"][size=3]The Ten Commandments of House Repair Talk[/size][/URL]



[URL="http://home.bellsouth.net/p/s/community.dll?ep=16&groupid=289528&ck="]Square Eye's home page[/URL]

Square Eye is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2008, 03:32 AM  
Phatboy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 194
Default

Thanks SquareEye, that helps alot. I get whats going on now. I just couldnt picture it in my head. Progress in my other thread very soon.

__________________
Phatboy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2008, 09:15 AM  
guyod
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wind Gap, PA
Posts: 423
Liked 21 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

They should make switches with 2 push in connecters to make pigtailing easier.

__________________
guyod is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2008, 03:16 PM  
Square Eye
Senior Member
 
Square Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,273
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

I don't think the advantage would be worth it. In a daisy chained circuit, if one device gets damaged, wears out or fails for whatever reason.. All of the devices from that point can be affected. With pigtails, one device can fail and the rest are still as they were.

__________________

[URL="http://www.houserepairtalk.com/announcement.php?f=39&a=6"][size=3]The Ten Commandments of House Repair Talk[/size][/URL]



[URL="http://home.bellsouth.net/p/s/community.dll?ep=16&groupid=289528&ck="]Square Eye's home page[/URL]

Square Eye is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2008, 04:19 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,147
Liked 94 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Default

We have discussed the advantages and disadvantages of pigtailing. See that post and decide for yourself. Also, I believe we all agreed at some point, that stab-ins were taboo.

If you've sucessfully wired up a double gang then you should be able to do a 4 gang, just duplicate what you've done and tie all that together following the existing wiring pattern.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-25-2008, 09:23 PM  
triple D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 296
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default 10-2?

A word of advice.... make sure that 10-2 is not on a 30amp breaker. You might want to check in panel and make sure the other end is tailed down to a 14guage on breaker. Other than that, you're in one of the simplest 4gang's, and i'm sure you'll come out fine. As long as you turn the power off first



__________________

[COLOR="DarkGreen"][FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"]See my work-Check out my album. "Git 'Er Done":D [/FONT][/COLOR]


Last edited by triple D; 04-30-2008 at 11:15 AM.
triple D is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Stumped on order of installation. Phatboy Roofing and Siding 4 10-03-2007 04:17 PM