DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Inaccessable outlet - remote control?





Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-16-2010, 10:26 AM  
rdennisjr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 3
Default Inaccessable outlet - remote control?

So...among my many to-do items on the house list, I have two electrical outlets that need some love. Both are typical outlets and are just above the top of two sections of my kitchen cabinets. The idea is that these would be nice to plug in "top of cabinet stuff", such as rope lighting, Christmas lights, who-knows-what. Unfortunetly they were a late add during the construction process and I failed to think things through all that great - so they are not switched. They work great - but I don't feel like crawling up and down onto my countertops every time I want to switch them on or off.

So I've done some looking for a plug-in or a replacement outlet that could be remote controlled. I've seen a few things on the X-10 but never anything that convinced me that was the way to go. I'm not a huge fan of putting in hard-wired switches as the two outlets are on different walls - so I'd be making rather large holes in walls that were just completed less than 3 months ago...sigh, hind-sight really is 20-20.

Any suggestions from any one?



__________________
rdennisjr is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-16-2010, 11:07 AM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 888
Liked 77 Times on 65 Posts

Default

If you can put the switch derectly below the receptacle you not need any large holes. The hole for the new switch should be large enough to fish a wire straight down from the receptacle.

X10 products are very popular.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-16-2010, 10:00 PM  
triple D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 296
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default hire someone....

A real electrician should be able to get both plugs switched from one location. Probably with no damage to walls at all if there is access above or below. Maybe close in cost to. Just a thought, good luck....

__________________

[COLOR="DarkGreen"][FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"]See my work-Check out my album. "Git 'Er Done":D [/FONT][/COLOR]

triple D is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Remote Control of Thermostat aardvark HVAC 2 11-01-2011 10:26 AM
ceiling fan remote sailor86 Electrical and Wiring 7 07-11-2010 01:20 PM
Need a Windows Media Center Remote brandonriffel Computers and Electronics 5 02-10-2010 11:19 PM
Ceiling Fan Remote Installation scootr65 Electrical and Wiring 1 08-25-2009 04:48 AM
Remote Control Lawnmower NOVA Pros General Chit-Chat 5 10-28-2008 11:49 AM