DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > junction/outlet




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-26-2013, 10:33 PM  
floatr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 25
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default junction/outlet

I am installing a outside gfci outlet on its own 20 amp,12/2 .I did have a large wire on a now not connected circuit,to go to shed,an would like to cap that off on both ends where its available later.it is 3 wire #6.if I use a large enough outlet box can both circuits,large not connected on either end,be in the box together.and if I can what size box ,and size of pipe going thru brick?
Any info is appreciated.



__________________
floatr is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2013, 05:00 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,277
Liked 850 Times on 759 Posts
Likes Given: 1466

Default

You wouldn't be able to ever use them out of the same box, so why not 2 boxes now.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2013, 11:30 PM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,275
Liked 393 Times on 306 Posts
Likes Given: 161

Default

Essentially, you want to use it as a pull box for the #6 wire. It could not be connected to anything "at" the box except another #6 for the shed. If you use a deep box you could do this with another #12 with no problem.

So, as long as there is nothing but a connection inside the box I think you can do it. Have not researched code ... you might dig into that.

shock.jpg  
__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Two Circuits Sharing Junction Box doechsli Electrical and Wiring 4 04-03-2013 07:26 PM
junction in the service panel asbestos Electrical and Wiring 7 06-24-2012 06:07 AM
Found Strange Wiring in Junction Box gso Electrical and Wiring 15 05-08-2012 08:34 PM
Connecting Knob and Tube to Junction Box Rwh56 Electrical and Wiring 4 02-21-2012 04:29 PM
Metal bar in way of junction box dstu Electrical and Wiring 11 02-27-2010 10:31 AM