DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > junction in the service panel




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-16-2012, 10:14 PM  
asbestos
Good with caulk
 
asbestos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 244
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default junction in the service panel

Is it ok to have a wire nutted connection in the service panel?



__________________

[FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"][SIZE="3"][B]Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but not their own facts[/B][/SIZE][/FONT]

asbestos is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-17-2012, 09:45 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,195
Liked 112 Times on 97 Posts
Likes Given: 64

Default

Is it ok to have a wire nutted connection in the service panel? Yes


__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-17-2012, 10:11 AM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,275
Liked 393 Times on 306 Posts
Likes Given: 161

Default

If the wire nutted splice is attached to a breaker, then it is OK. However, if the wire nutted connections are part of a pass-through, i.e., using the service panel as a junction box, then it is a big NO-NO.

__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-17-2012, 10:58 AM  
asbestos
Good with caulk
 
asbestos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 244
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

No It goes to a breaker. In classic newbie form I cut the wire too short. so I was going to splice in an extra 18" to make it around to the breaker.

__________________

[FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"][SIZE="3"][B]Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but not their own facts[/B][/SIZE][/FONT]

asbestos is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-18-2012, 07:22 AM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,275
Liked 393 Times on 306 Posts
Likes Given: 161

Default

Everybody makes mistakes. :0) I came up shoty on a 22v line inside a garage one time. Had to put in a j-box. I prefer continuous wire for 220v but it is perfectly OK to use a j-box.

In your case, this pigtail is allowed and it should be no problem. As a personal practice, I tape the connection after applying the wire nut. Just guarantees no slippage.

Spark ON!

__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-18-2012, 07:34 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,195
Liked 112 Times on 97 Posts
Likes Given: 64

Default

Just to be sure, you will have to use larger or same size wire to complete the run.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2012, 09:58 PM  
Parrothead
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: , WI
Posts: 65
Likes Given: 1

Default

Happens a lot with service changes (even though I know this wasn't the case here). The wire is not long enough for the new panel, so your choices are to have j-boxes all around the new panel or make your splices in the new panel. You are fine.

__________________
Parrothead is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-24-2012, 06:07 AM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 445
Liked 39 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CallMeVilla View Post
I prefer continuous wire for 220v but it is perfectly OK to use a j-box.
May I ask why? And what the voltage has to do with it??
Statements like this always puzzle me.


__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
do 150 amp service panel exist? turfgrass Electrical and Wiring 10 07-23-2011 07:36 AM
Service Panel Circuits zirkeithb Electrical and Wiring 1 08-15-2009 02:16 PM
Service panel connection. Hack Electrical and Wiring 16 01-02-2008 10:34 AM
Service/breaker panel capacity question... tenderton Electrical and Wiring 1 10-13-2006 05:08 AM
Service Panel onryx2 Electrical and Wiring 2 08-21-2006 07:18 PM