DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Kitchen Wiring,




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-21-2010, 02:56 PM  
ISUzj
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: one, Iowa
Posts: 39
Default Kitchen Wiring,

SO I found out that my 70 yr old Kitchen is all on one 30amp breaker... whoo hoo!!!!

this is what I have figured I need:

20 amp Microwave
15 amp 3 GFCI's
50 amp Oven
15 amp Dishwasher and disposal
15 amp lights
15 amp fridge.


Is this right? are there any I can combine? not trying to cop out, just wondering. Just really am not for running 5 sets of wires all the way across the house...

Also, what is the consensus on the tandem breakers in 1 slot, are these okay?

Link to what I am thinking



__________________

[CENTER]I am sorry, but "flippers" drive me nuts; Just because some girl in Cali did it on this one show and made 100K, doesn't mean you can do a half-job and turn a profit[/CENTER]

ISUzj is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-21-2010, 03:41 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,179
Liked 104 Times on 91 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

Actually, I think the dishwasher and disposal have to be separate circuits too.
Tandems are okay and in this case just might be necessary.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-21-2010, 04:41 PM  
ISUzj
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: one, Iowa
Posts: 39
Default

K, well i was told you can get by putting them on one..(dishwasher and disposal)

Do the Amps seem right?

well, I guess I am going to have to start "mapping out" where I am running all of these wires... yay!

__________________

[CENTER]I am sorry, but "flippers" drive me nuts; Just because some girl in Cali did it on this one show and made 100K, doesn't mean you can do a half-job and turn a profit[/CENTER]

ISUzj is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-21-2010, 05:41 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 947
Liked 99 Times on 81 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

You 20 amps for the counter receptacle GFCIs.

Use multi wire branch circuits. Use one 14/3 cable to run two circuits. Split them out in two circuits at the first receptacle. Use 12/3 for the 20 amp circuits.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-21-2010, 08:32 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,179
Liked 104 Times on 91 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

Amperage wise, you may be able to put the dishwasher and disposal on one circuit but, I recall hearing something about them having to be on a separate circuit by code.

JoeD, isn't okay to use 15amp outlets for the kitchen counter outlets?

FYI, using 14/3 and 12/3 would imply sharing the neutral which is not allowed with a tandem breaker.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2010, 05:08 AM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 444
Liked 39 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kok328 View Post
Amperage wise, you may be able to put the dishwasher and disposal on one circuit but, I recall hearing something about them having to be on a separate circuit by code.
It is not a code. They are fine together.


Quote:
Originally Posted by kok328 View Post
JoeD, isn't okay to use 15amp outlets for the kitchen counter outlets?
The devices can be 15A but the circuits must be 20A with #12 wire.


Quote:
Originally Posted by kok328 View Post
FYI, using 14/3 and 12/3 would imply sharing the neutral which is not allowed with a tandem breaker.
Huh?? Sure, you cannot put both legs of a MWBC on a tandem, but you can use two tandems for two MWBC's if you want.
__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2010, 06:47 AM  
ISUzj
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: one, Iowa
Posts: 39
Default

well I have heard both for kitchen outlets, we will have 3 outlets so 20 might be okay....I am going to check local codes, see if there is anything on that.

__________________

[CENTER]I am sorry, but "flippers" drive me nuts; Just because some girl in Cali did it on this one show and made 100K, doesn't mean you can do a half-job and turn a profit[/CENTER]

ISUzj is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2010, 12:12 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 947
Liked 99 Times on 81 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

In Canada we have the option of using 15 amp split wired receptalces or 20 amp T slot recepotacles for the kitchen counter.

In US I believe you are required to have 20 amp counter circuits unless you have some sort of local amendment.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2010, 02:14 PM  
ISUzj
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: one, Iowa
Posts: 39
Default

so, I have a general question steming from this: My kitchen is on one end of the house... and literally my breaker box is clear on the other side.... can I run a heavier gauge wire across and do a sub-panel for the kitchen, I really don't want to run 7 wires across the basement ceiling.

However, a roll of 12-2 250 ft is 60... i suppose 40 feet of heavier wire will be more than 60 won't it????

but let me hear the options....Thanks

__________________

[CENTER]I am sorry, but "flippers" drive me nuts; Just because some girl in Cali did it on this one show and made 100K, doesn't mean you can do a half-job and turn a profit[/CENTER]

ISUzj is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2010, 03:01 PM  
Redbirdseven
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Hi there ... Speedy Petey is right about the GFI circuits using the #12 wire but you need by code to have two separate GFI circuits in the Kitchen counter section. This is so if you have things like elec. frying skillets and crock pots and blenders and toasters and the like plugged in and running two more at the same time you can do so without tripping your breakers.
If I was doing the wiring I would vote for the separate runs of wire. If your panel will not hole the extra cir's well then it is time to up grade to a larger cir. panel



__________________
Redbirdseven is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Kitchen Wiring xedd Electrical and Wiring 6 10-12-2010 07:07 AM
help with 3 way wiring ubonline Electrical and Wiring 8 06-20-2010 11:23 PM
Wiring new fan Amber Electrical and Wiring 1 10-14-2008 09:02 AM
220 wiring... watts Electrical and Wiring 15 02-18-2008 12:43 PM
Kitchen wiring questions! Quattro Electrical and Wiring 5 01-30-2007 07:36 AM