DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Metal bar in way of junction box




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-21-2010, 07:52 PM  
dstu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Default Metal bar in way of junction box

I removed the light above my vanity and found that the the previous installer did not install a junction box. The house was built in 1985 so I think there should have been one. Anyway, there is a metal bar that is crossing the hole that conflicts with a new installation. I am prepared to cut this bar away to make room but I would like to know what it is before I create a new problem.

Does anybody have any idea what this is? And if I can cut it away without any regrets?

The bar is shown in both of the attached photos. For background. This is an exterior wall. There is a stud located about 1" to the right of the existing cut out. There is a vent pipe on the left edge of the cutout. The metal bar appears to extend from the stud on the right generally in the direction of the stud on the left (outside of the photo). I have seen something like this as bracing for pipes in other locations of the house but in those cases they used copper pipe.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Derek



wiring1.jpg   wiring2.jpg  
__________________
dstu is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2010, 08:06 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

It's one of these adjustable braces. Each end has teeth to dig into the sides of joists. If you loosen the setscrew the thing comes loose.

Google Image Result for http://i.ehow.com/images/GlobalPhoto/Articles/2289593/fanboxbrace_Thumb.jpg

Or, if you have a wrench like in the pic below
http://wpcontent.answers.com/wikipedia/commons/thumb/4/4e/Monkey_and_Stillson_wrenches.png/300px-Monkey_and_Stillson_wrenches.png
you might be able to put enough torque on the thing so that it releases its grip on the joist sides, and so you can then pull it through the hole. Use a pipe on the wrench handle for extra torque if needed.
Take it slow with this process.

You have enough depth for a junction box?



__________________

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 02-21-2010 at 08:24 PM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2010, 08:26 PM  
dstu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Default

That looks like a match. I guess the question I have to ask now is do I find a box to fit the bar or remove the bar and install an standard box.

Thank you for the rapid feedback!

Derek

__________________
dstu is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2010, 08:30 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dstu View Post
That looks like a match. I guess the question I have to ask now is do I find a box to fit the bar or remove the bar and install an standard box.

Thank you for the rapid feedback!

Derek
If you're not hanging anything heavy I'd remove the bar and use an "old work" box.
http://www.foxelectricsupply.com/Content/Media/Images/Product/b618r.jpg

Yeah, that was fast. Coincidence, I guess. . .
__________________

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 02-21-2010 at 08:49 PM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2010, 07:43 AM  
ohmy
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 53
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

How was the light up there without a box?

__________________

www.TECertifiedElectricians.com

ohmy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2010, 10:47 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 965
Liked 102 Times on 84 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Peraps the old light did not need a box. The light itself was the junction box.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2010, 08:15 AM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeD View Post
Peraps the old light did not need a box. The light itself was the junction box.
As long as the splice is in a fire-resistant enclosure I don't have a problem with it, but the NEC might.

Another thing is that some ceiling light fixtures require 90 °C cable instead of 60 °C, and the changeover was around 1985.
In this case, if you have 60 °C cable you should halve the max fixture wattage and relabel. E.g., the fixture from the store says 200w max, so you never put over 100w worth of bulbs in it, or use CFLs.
I brought up this idea with UL but they wouldn't say yea or nay on this derating plan. But they understood my point.
__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2010, 11:26 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 965
Liked 102 Times on 84 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

A fixture must be installed based on the max wattage rating and the manufacturers specs. If it says you need 90ºC wire then you must have it to be code. You can say you will use CFLs but you don't know what the next guy might use.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2010, 12:25 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeD View Post
You can say you will use CFLs but you don't know what the next guy might use.
UL's only real objection to the derating seemed to hinge on the label being permanent or not.

In any case, can you imagine how many fixtures there are in 110M homes in the US that are not in compliance with those labels?

And have you noticed that the outside of the packaging never mentions this 90 °C requirement? They might lose a sale if they did that.
__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2010, 05:02 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 965
Liked 102 Times on 84 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

NEC code requires that work install fixtures as labelled and use the highest watt rating when doing any calculations or installation.



__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Tags
junction box, light, plumbing

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
metal roofing Babydahl Roofing and Siding 2 01-24-2010 11:35 AM
Metal Roofing ??s overdriv Roofing and Siding 1 06-17-2009 05:55 AM
Metal door NoJesus4u Windows and Doors 0 03-09-2009 01:02 PM
Metal Tile designfiend General Home Improvement Discussion 0 01-09-2009 09:43 PM
Metal breaks cranbrook2 Roofing and Siding 9 10-14-2006 04:53 PM