DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > more power in attached garage





Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-04-2013, 01:37 PM  
donald73d
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Canaan, New York
Posts: 25
Default more power in attached garage

I need to add some additional power in my garage for 50 amp welder, 30 amp air compressor and 20 amp saw. (220V). Also additional 30 amp welders.

The cheapest way is to run a 50 amp circuit to the garage and put in an outlet. Then make some cheater cords to power the the compressor and saw. The welder can plug right in.

The most expensive way is to install a 100 sub box in the garage and install 3 circuits for the above mentioned devices.

The garage has 110V for outlets and lights.

None of these items would be left plugged in when I am not there. The air compressor has its own thermal cutout and I am not sure about the saw.

There are also some in-between choices.

Its not a long run, maybe 15'.

The welder can draw a max of 70 amps on its max setting, but doubtful I would be doing any welding at that setting.

It would not be likely two of these items would be used at once. I do have a plasma cutter that needs compressed air. I could use my other 110V compressor for that however.

Other ideas?



__________________
donald73d is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-04-2013, 06:46 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,081
Liked 71 Times on 66 Posts
Likes Given: 50

Default

So with a cheater cord, you will be running the 20 amp saw on a 50 amp circuit?



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-04-2013, 08:17 PM  
firehawkmph
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 27
Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Don't be cheap about it and burn your garage or your equipment up. I put a large addition on my second garage, which already had a 100 amp subpanel in it. I put a second 100 amp subpanel in the new addition. I have a 50a tigwelder, 30a compressor, 20a lift, lights, outlets, etc. No problems at all. The materials for the electric rough in, which included 4 lengths, 75' each, of #3 copper. I spent around $800. This was the wire, box, main breaker, all the other breakers, 20a tamper proof outlets. Everything works well, I haven't tripped a single breaker, and it was inspected and passed with flying colors. Don't mess around with cheater cords and the like, you're only asking for trouble.
Mike Hawkins

__________________
firehawkmph is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2013, 11:09 AM  
Fireguy5674
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Illinois
Posts: 163
Liked 27 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

If you are only needing to go 15' to be able to supply the new area, to me it is a no brainer. Set a small 100 amp sub in the garage, run plugs to where you need them and be done. By the time you buy the material to make up cheater cords you will have spent half what you needed to do it correctly. You will also not be constantly swapping cords and tripping on the ones strung across the work area.

__________________
Fireguy5674 is offline  
2
People Like This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2013, 07:43 AM  
Chris
Guru of nothing
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 803
Liked 35 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default

I did what Fireguy is recommending and couldn't be happier. I actually did some trade work with my electrician so it didn't even cost me anything.

__________________
Chris is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2013, 06:27 PM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 7,741
Liked 541 Times on 490 Posts
Likes Given: 1000

Default

If you are intent on cheating, the least I wouold do is install a small breaker box in the garage. You still couldn't run everything at the same time but you woulkd have the right size breakers for your smaller tools.



__________________
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Insulate an un-heated attached garage? Quattro Insulation and Radiant Barriers 12 08-24-2013 12:14 AM
Eliminating Drywall Ceiling In Attached Garage shane2943 Walls and Ceilings 23 05-23-2013 06:10 AM
Building an attached deck needadvise Decks & Patios 1 04-26-2011 11:37 PM
possible leak..? -pics attached edanthony Walls and Ceilings 4 08-06-2009 04:34 PM
How is island attached to floor daniel2229 General Home Improvement Discussion 4 06-03-2008 06:58 AM