DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Moving an Outlet




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-03-2009, 05:42 PM  
shan2themax
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: huntington
Posts: 274
Send a message via AIM to shan2themax Send a message via Yahoo to shan2themax
Default Moving an Outlet

In my kitchen behind the countertops that I put under the window is an outlet. I would like to move that outlet above the countertop. I would also like to make it a double outlet.
In so doing, I am wondering if I can do this without having to go up in the attic and pull wires. Can I just pigtail (I think that is the proper term)the current outlet and leave it behind the cabinets and then connect/install 2 new outlets above the counter/under the window?

Not a really good picture or the window but the outlet is basically a few inches to the right of the silver bottle sitting in the window sill



post-new-cabinets.jpg  
__________________

Last edited by shan2themax; 08-03-2009 at 05:46 PM.
shan2themax is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2009, 08:06 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,167
Liked 100 Times on 88 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

Are you sure you posted the correct pic. I can barely see the window and can't see the silver bottle. Doesn't matter though, pic really not necessary. The answer depends on whether you want your new outlet to be directly above the old outlet or not because you'll have to go through wall studs and then your options are that you go up into the attic and back down between different wall studs where you want the outlet or demo some drywall and run across under the counter and then up to your new outlet location.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2009, 08:07 PM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Hello Shan:
Yes, you can move the outlet. I suspect it comes up from down below. Is there an outlet to the left of the cabinets there? If there is, the outlet in question probably comes off that one.
Square Eye (my son Tom) taught me to install only one outlet and get a plug-in 6 space outlet. You can find them at Lowe's or Home Depot. Not the one with a cord now, it is plugged straight into an outlet and you put a screw in it just like you would a cover plate.
Glenn

__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2009, 09:57 PM  
Nestor_Kelebay
Emperor Penguin
 
Nestor_Kelebay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,844
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

The problem with an outlet like that is that it leads to the temptation to have everything you need in the kitchen plugged in at once. You end up with a toaster, coffee maker, microwave oven, capacino machine, waffle iron and electric wok all plugged in to that outlet. And, that means the conductor of that orchestra has to exercise the discipline not to turn on too many things at once cuz even though you got 6 outlets, they all still have to share a measly 15 amps.

Sticking to an ordinary duplex receptacle would probably prevent a lot of tripped breakers or blown fuses.

__________________

Last edited by Nestor_Kelebay; 08-03-2009 at 10:01 PM.
Nestor_Kelebay is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-04-2009, 05:31 AM  
locknut
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 75
Default

If the kitchen was wired according to code, the outlet was wired for 20a (12AWG). You can properly pigtail to another location, but the connections in the original box must remain accessible (covered by a blank plate). If you'd ignore the code and cover the original box with e.g., sheetrock, there would be no ready access to the connections should they fail in the future. I'm not sure about the lay of the cabinet and the wall construction in your case, but I would likely open a path for a cable in the sheetrock, drill through the stud(s) and mount the new box. If there's no stud surface for attaching the new box, use a self-attaching box (two-gang for your double duplex outlets). How are you at re-spackling? (Is that a black cat?)

__________________
locknut is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-04-2009, 08:58 AM  
shan2themax
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: huntington
Posts: 274
Send a message via AIM to shan2themax Send a message via Yahoo to shan2themax
Default

Yes, that is a black cat.... want one? I have several black ones, 3 need homes as my mother lives with me and she is the crazy cat lady.... lol

I am alright at spackling..... I can do it, I just dont like to but hey, I can put my big girl panties on and deal with it. My biggest reason for wanting to move the outlet (other than the fact that I want to use it) is so I can take the microwave and put it on that counter.... I am not a fan of microwaves, but again the crazy cat lady uses it often. If it werent for that, I had thought about seeing if I could just cut a whole in the back of the cabinet and a whole in the countertop with a (doomaflochy?) to allow the cord to go down through the cabinet, but then I could only use it for the microwave.

so, If I do move it, I just need to keep the box that it is currently in and put a smooth closed faceplate overtop of it? that is what I was thinking, I thought that you had to keep access to it at all times.
and yes, it would just go directly above where it is now, that counter tends to be the catch all and I would like to space things out in the corner of the main counter....

Luckily, I have never attatched these cabinets to the wall because I wanted to wait until I got support under the floor and things jacked up a little and I didnt want to have to go back and redo it, so, it will just be a matter of empty the cabinets and taking of the countertop. (every once in a while I come up with a good idea!)

__________________
shan2themax is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-04-2009, 11:43 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,167
Liked 100 Times on 88 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

In that case, cut the hole for your new outlet box and fish a wire down to the existing outlet. Make your splice there and cover w/a blank coverplate. Reuse the outlet and cover plate in the new box and your done.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-04-2009, 02:53 PM  
travelover
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 693
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nestor_Kelebay View Post
The problem with an outlet like that is that it leads to the temptation to have everything you need in the kitchen plugged in at once. You end up with a toaster, coffee maker, microwave oven, capacino machine, waffle iron and electric wok all plugged in to that outlet. And, that means the conductor of that orchestra has to exercise the discipline not to turn on too many things at once cuz even though you got 6 outlets, they all still have to share a measly 15 amps.

Sticking to an ordinary duplex receptacle would probably prevent a lot of tripped breakers or blown fuses.
In general you are right, but a double outlet is really nice these days with cell phone chargers, IPod chargers, clock radios, etc. that don't take much current but hog up the outlets.

And we KNOW that Shannon knows where the fuse box is.


__________________
travelover is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
new outlet in a closet Will1987 Electrical and Wiring 13 12-19-2008 12:17 PM
moving breaker box shan2themax Electrical and Wiring 4 02-12-2008 07:41 PM
moving out mswalsh53 General Home Improvement Discussion 0 07-02-2007 03:21 PM
Moving to Pennsylvania mangan_nina Introductions 1 11-14-2006 09:03 AM