DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > My first project question(s)




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-07-2012, 10:16 PM  
murrs187
Junior Member
 
murrs187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Default My first project question(s)

Thanks everyone in advance for your help. I just bought a condo and I am going to install an over the range microwave. It appears the previous owners wired the microwave directly to the 3 wires coming out of the wall (white, black and bare).
My first question is should I wire the microwave the same way or should I install a receptacle? Second what will I need to buy in order to install the receptacle? I believe the micro is on its own circuit.
Sorry for the lack of terminology as this is really my first time doing home repairs. I am an automotive technician so I am familiar with AC electrical, not so much with DC.
Thanks,
Jack Myers



__________________
murrs187 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-08-2012, 07:19 AM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,887
Liked 813 Times on 726 Posts
Likes Given: 1400

Default

I have seen it all in a box, at a big box store. All you need is a box a plug and a cover.
Check first that the wire is copper, black to brass screw white to silver, bare to ground green.



__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-08-2012, 07:23 AM  
murrs187
Junior Member
 
murrs187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for the quick reply. I'll be headed to the store after work. Thanks again

__________________
murrs187 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-08-2012, 07:31 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 951
Liked 101 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

It really depends on the new MW. If it has a plug on it then install a receptacle in the cabinet above to plug it in.
If no plug then hard wire it like the old one.

__________________
JoeD is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-08-2012, 07:53 AM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,887
Liked 813 Times on 726 Posts
Likes Given: 1400

Default

If Joe is right and you hard wire, it will want to be done in a junction box with a cover.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-08-2012, 10:43 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 951
Liked 101 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Unless the MW has a built in junction box. Then bring the cable into the box on the MW, clamp it and make the connections.

__________________
JoeD is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-08-2012, 04:22 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,185
Liked 105 Times on 92 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

I am an automotive technician so I am familiar with AC electrical, not so much with DC.

Automotive is DC not AC.
__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-08-2012, 04:57 PM  
murrs187
Junior Member
 
murrs187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks kok for the correction

__________________
murrs187 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-09-2012, 11:14 AM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,260
Liked 385 Times on 301 Posts
Likes Given: 157

Default

Hard wiring from the original wire is acceptable. You are dealing with what is probably NB-2 wire which has a ground wire (the bare wire). Your new MW should have an internal box where you can fish the house wire and clamp it in place.

Simply attach the like-colors to each other, using a yellow wire nut. Twist clockwise until it is firm but do not over-tighten as it might snap the wire. I like to wrap each wire connection with a length of electrician tape to ensure long term stability. The ground wire can be twisted without a wire nut but it should be attached to the green screw that is inside the MW (check instructions).

This is nto rocket science -- but it is electricity. Work carefully and systematically. You will do fine.



__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Add A Project TxBuilder HouseRepairTalk Website Help 0 01-30-2012 01:07 PM
New Amateur with a Project MoreCowbell Introductions 1 05-29-2011 01:15 PM
our new project carl Introductions 5 07-21-2008 06:35 PM
My Ongoing Project green girl General Home Improvement Discussion 5 09-11-2007 09:26 AM