DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > natural gas-powered generator inside home?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-29-2010, 12:01 PM  
ilyaz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 111
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default natural gas-powered generator inside home?

After the latest storms we started thinking about getting a power generator. One question I have is this: are there generators that are natural gas powered and that would be safe to install inside the house -- e.g. in the utility room -- and connected to the same gas line that feeds our water heater? How much space would I need for a unit like that? Thanks!



__________________
ilyaz is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-29-2010, 12:50 PM  
CraigFL
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 409
Default

I would think a generator would fall under the same codes as a furnace. Some localities would probably not let you run an engine in anything but an enclosed. separate room. The real problem is going to be the exhaust gases. Since they won't be at low temperatures like a high efficiency furnace, you wouldn't be able to vent thru the wall and therefore need a chimney.



__________________
CraigFL is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-29-2010, 02:07 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

CO is generated by incomplete combustion.

Possibly with venting you could do this.
I'd wonder about noise transmission, through the air and through the house framework.

I recommend 3 CO detectors in any case, and get the sensitive kind. 3 gives you 1 chance in 1 million of not detecting CO, at least on your purchase date. Dunno' how this reliability degrades over the life of the detectors.

__________________

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 07-29-2010 at 03:44 PM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-30-2010, 12:05 AM  
triple D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 296
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default why inside??????

Just have to know why inside, I'll check codes but I'm pretty sure this one might be a no go. To many factors at hand. Is there no room outside? How big do you need it?

__________________

[COLOR="DarkGreen"][FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"]See my work-Check out my album. "Git 'Er Done":D [/FONT][/COLOR]

triple D is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2010, 05:09 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 967
Liked 102 Times on 84 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Aside from the exhaust gas issues there is a very big issue with heat. You would need some very huge ventilation fans and louvres to keep the heat down in the room.

Put it outside where it belongs.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2013, 04:05 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,195
Liked 112 Times on 97 Posts
Likes Given: 64

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyaz View Post
After the latest storms we started thinking about getting a power generator. One question I have is this: are there generators that are natural gas powered and that would be safe to install inside the house -- e.g. in the utility room -- and connected to the same gas line that feeds our water heater? How much space would I need for a unit like that? Thanks!
Yes; they do make natural & LP gas powered generators.
No you can not install them inside a house.
Additionally, they are not very quiet.
__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2013, 12:05 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,272
Liked 848 Times on 757 Posts
Likes Given: 1465

Default

http://www.smps.us/home-generators.html
__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2013, 01:42 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 967
Liked 102 Times on 84 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

This post is three years old and was revived by a spammer who's post has been deleted.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2013, 02:17 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,272
Liked 848 Times on 757 Posts
Likes Given: 1465

Default

Visiters do read these old posts, so I don't think the information is a waist



__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Running wire for my Generator SeattleDIY Electrical and Wiring 5 11-12-2008 06:02 AM
DC to AC power conversion for AA battery powered light? rono73 Electrical and Wiring 3 01-28-2008 07:22 PM
solar powered motion-sensor outdoor light todd_k Electrical and Wiring 3 01-19-2007 03:13 PM