DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Need help wiring outdoor receptacle




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-15-2011, 01:59 PM  
Bullitt930
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Default Need help wiring outdoor receptacle

I just bought an outdoor GFCI that I would like to wire up to an indoor receptacle. When I took the cover plate off and pulled the receptacle out of the wall I noticed it is wired up with 3 wires (+ ground) in and out. The bottom outlet is switched. How do I wire this correctly?



__________________
Bullitt930 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-15-2011, 04:11 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,200
Liked 113 Times on 98 Posts
Likes Given: 65

Default

That all depends if you want the GFI outlet to be switch or not.
What you most likely have is two hots, one constant and one switch, a neutral common to both plugs on the outlet and a ground wire.
You will extend a run of the neutral, ground and one of the two hots (depending on your preference switch or unswitched) to the LINE lugs on your GFI.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-16-2011, 05:30 AM  
Bullitt930
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Default

I don't want the GFI switched. Each white wire is going to a silver lug by itself, the black wires are together on one brass lug, and the red wires are together on one brass lug. Which wires do I extend through the wall to the GFI?

__________________
Bullitt930 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-16-2011, 07:17 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,200
Liked 113 Times on 98 Posts
Likes Given: 65

Default

Extend the wires that are constant/not switched power.
Per your post this would be the top wires ((black or red), white & the ground).
From there reference the instructions that came with your GFI outlet.
If you don't have the instructions, attach the black or red extended wire to the brass lug on the LINE side of the GFI outlet (top) and attach white extended wire to the silver lug on the LINE side of the GFI outlet (top) and attach green extended wire to the green lug on the GFI outlet.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-16-2011, 07:18 AM  
isola96
Senior Member
 
isola96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lagrangeville, New York
Posts: 437
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullitt930
I don't want the GFI switched. Each white wire is going to a silver lug by itself, the black wires are together on one brass lug, and the red wires are together on one brass lug. Which wires do I extend through the wall to the GFI?
Can you provide picture of the outlet you have in there now with wires attached?
__________________
isola96 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-23-2011, 06:05 AM  
Bullitt930
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Default

I hope this picture is good enough.

1023110755.jpg  
__________________
Bullitt930 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-23-2011, 08:29 PM  
JTGP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 68
Default

TURN OFF THE POWER FIRST!!!

Is there something else that is switched? (Another outlet?) If you want it still switched wire nut the BLACK wires.

What set of wires are coming from the source?

The source red wire goes on the line side BRASS and its white wire SILVER line side of the GFCI

The other red connects to the load side BRASS and with the white wire also the the SILVER load side of the GFCI.

Ground (GREEN or BARE wire) to the green screw.

__________________
JTGP is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-12-2011, 09:38 AM  
evstarr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 27
Default

The advice above is dead on correct imo but Since that receptacle is backstabbed, I would suggest pulling out the conductors and nutting them together by color and adding a pigtail to reattach the receptacle with using the side screws.



__________________
evstarr is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Single switch to receptacle jeff7 Electrical and Wiring 11 09-18-2012 08:44 AM
Bathroom receptacle not working.. JJman Electrical and Wiring 8 08-04-2011 01:27 AM
Adding New Receptacle SavvyCat Electrical and Wiring 12 01-26-2011 06:39 AM
receptacle above ceiling kok328 Electrical and Wiring 2 11-05-2010 03:59 PM
Installing a new receptacle help! Rehdarh Electrical and Wiring 3 09-04-2009 06:33 PM