DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Neutral vs Ground





Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-15-2008, 02:33 PM  
gfw
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 15
Default Neutral vs Ground

In the wall box where I'm working, there is the hot wire, the load wire (goes to chandelier) and two bare wires that are wired together.

The existing switch ties is grounded to those two bare wires, so I think I'm safe in assuming at least one of those bare wires is truly ground. Is it likely the other is the neutral? Is it normal or common for neutral to be grounded?

Thanks,
Greg



__________________
gfw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2008, 04:20 PM  
Square Eye
Senior Member
 
Square Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,273
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

No.
Neutral and ground are NOT the same.
Neutrals should never be connected to a ground wire and ground wires should never be used as neutrals.
So, it's not common. But from what I've seen, anything is possible. That doesn't make it right.
Hopefully you're looking at a switch leg (2 hot wires with a switch between) Maybe the ground wires come from a back to back box?
Need a picture on this one. Are there jacketed Romex wires in the box or are the wires run in conduit? One of the bare wires could be pigtailed from the switch body to the box?



__________________

[URL="http://www.houserepairtalk.com/announcement.php?f=39&a=6"][size=3]The Ten Commandments of House Repair Talk[/size][/URL]



[URL="http://home.bellsouth.net/p/s/community.dll?ep=16&groupid=289528&ck="]Square Eye's home page[/URL]

Square Eye is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2008, 05:05 PM  
gfw
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 15
Default

I think I understand. There are two complete wires entering the box. Each contains an insulated black, an insulated white and a bare. The two black ones go across the switch, so one is hot from source, the other is hot to load. The two white are wire-nutted together so they are neutral, and the two bare are wire-nutted together with the ground from the switch body, so they are ground. Have I got it?

The reason I'm asking is because I think the dimmer switch I've ordered will require a neutral connection, unlike the switch I'm replacing. I'm replacing the existing dimmer switch because it's incandescent-only, and I just replaced the incandescent chandelier with a 12V halogen one. A lot of the low-voltage compatible dimmers seem to require a neutral connection. Until the new switch gets here, we're using the existing switch all-on or all-off.

__________________
gfw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2008, 05:34 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,081
Liked 71 Times on 66 Posts
Likes Given: 50

Default

Yes, you understanding is correct and your new dimmer will break the hot and tap the neutral (assuming it needs neutral) & ground.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
why does my ground have current gavimobile Electrical and Wiring 24 02-10-2009 09:24 AM
Open Ground Outlets xiolo Electrical and Wiring 5 10-12-2008 11:06 PM
electrical problem - 120v between neutral and ground dave0419 Electrical and Wiring 3 08-27-2007 04:53 PM
neutral bus, groud bus Scot Clark Electrical and Wiring 4 03-09-2007 04:53 PM
interesting ground wire hawkestone Electrical and Wiring 10 07-23-2006 02:26 PM