DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > new circuit breaker for garage.




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-22-2010, 08:05 AM  
beast696
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
Default new circuit breaker for garage.

I need to add more power to my garage as I'm using it to power lots of power tools. The current breaker only holds about 10amps, I need to know how to get more juice flowing to my work space? The main panel is a 200amp box, I will provide more info if needed. A rough estimate of pricing for this job would be appreciated as well. Thank you.

Along with power tools, I would also like to add an AC unit in there because the heat could become a health hazard during the summer months. How big of a circuit breaker should I be looking at?



__________________

Last edited by beast696; 08-22-2010 at 08:08 AM. Reason: More info
beast696 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-22-2010, 09:46 AM  
knewshound
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12
Default

Well, by code, the AC needs to be on a separate breaker.

The regular outlets need only to be run in, hooked up at the outlets then installed in the panel, ideally on their own breaker also.

Since the AC unit is possibly a 220 device, you may want to do some home work before you dive in.

Cheers,

knewshound



__________________

Life is a DIY Project.

[URL="http://www.knewshound.blogspot.com/"]knewshounds blog[/URL]

knewshound is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-22-2010, 12:25 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 436
Liked 32 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beast696 View Post
I need to add more power to my garage as I'm using it to power lots of power tools.
OK. Attached or detached garage? This is important.


Quote:
Originally Posted by beast696 View Post
The current breaker only holds about 10amps, I need to know how to get more juice flowing to my work space?
What do you mean by this?? This makes no sense. Either it is a 15A or 20A breaker. How do you know it only holds "about 10 amps"?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beast696 View Post
The main panel is a 200amp box, I will provide more info if needed. A rough estimate of pricing for this job would be appreciated as well. Thank you.
A price for what??? We have absolutely no idea of the setting and circumstances in your home at this point. We have nothing to eve base a guess on.


Quote:
Originally Posted by beast696 View Post
Along with power tools, I would also like to add an AC unit in there because the heat could become a health hazard during the summer months. How big of a circuit breaker should I be looking at?
Again, what information do we have to base a guess on?
Central air?
Wall unit?
How big?


From the feeling of your questions I think you would be best served having someone come in and give you a price to do this work. Better yet, draw up a list of needs and get a few prices for the same work so you are making an even comparison.
__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-22-2010, 12:26 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 436
Liked 32 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by knewshound View Post
Well, by code, the AC needs to be on a separate breaker.
What code is that? I am curious.
__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-22-2010, 06:14 PM  
beast696
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedy petey View Post
OK. Attached or detached garage? This is important.
By definition I guess it would be a detached garage because you can't gain access to house from the garage even though it shares a common wall. The side door leads to the courtyard to the front door of my home. Main breaker is in one of the bedroom located about 30-40 feet from the garage, Hope this helps.


What do you mean by this?? This makes no sense. Either it is a 15A or 20A breaker. How do you know it only holds "about 10 amps"?
Upon further inspection it appears I made a mistake, it's actually a 15A circuit for the garage, but I still need more juice as it trips when I run my power saw and my roommate is using other tools.


A price for what??? We have absolutely no idea of the setting and circumstances in your home at this point. We have nothing to eve base a guess on.
I'm sorry for not providing the correct nor complete information for you guys to give me sound advice. Please ask any questions you like as it will help me gain knowledge as to what I'm trying to do.


Again, what information do we have to base a guess on?
Central air?
Wall unit?
How big?
A portable unit at about 12000 BTU is the range I'm looking at.

From the feeling of your questions I think you would be best served having someone come in and give you a price to do this work. Better yet, draw up a list of needs and get a few prices for the same work so you are making an even comparison.
The main goal is to have sufficient power to run all my tools in my garage plus a portable AC unit. Not sure exactly how much is needed but have been told by some that a 40A circuit breaker should be enough to satisfy my needs with some room for expansion.

I guess my question is what is the best way to get power I need into my garage? I would be happy to provide more info about the set up needed. Thank you for answering my question.
__________________
beast696 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-23-2010, 05:57 AM  
budro
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
Default

the wire you are going to run will determine what breaker size you need. i would probably put in a 100 to 125 amp panel. you can install a larger panel than the wires load capacity, you just have to protect the wire's capacity by correctly sizing the breaker for the wire. i think supply houses usually sell 125 amp panels around $40.00 after sizing up your wire and breaker you have to find just what is available. in essence if you need 65 amps for a circuit you can buy a 70 amp breaker but will probably only find 100 amp wire, which is ok to be protected by a same size or smaller amp breaker. what you can buy locally will play into your plans too. if your garage is attached and the outside panel is in the general area, you will spend 150 to 250 bucks on materials. you may need 110' feet of 12-2 w/g wire and the best buy will be a 250' roll. and so on. be safe. hire a licensed electrician if confused.

__________________
budro is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-26-2010, 01:20 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 936
Liked 92 Times on 77 Posts

Default

Is the garage attached or detached. The methods are very different between the two.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-30-2010, 10:43 AM  
beast696
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeD View Post
Is the garage attached or detached. The methods are very different between the two.
Detachted.
__________________
beast696 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2010, 06:31 AM  
Walker923
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Felton, PA
Posts: 5
Default

The best bet for a detached garage is to set a sub panel inside the garage. 100A sould be more than enough for what you want to do, but give you some flexability if you want to expand. How far is the run between you house service and the garage? Also, what size wire is coming into your house and what size panel is in your house now?

__________________
Walker923 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-07-2010, 12:24 PM  
handyguys
Senior Member
 
handyguys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 815
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Send a message via Skype™ to handyguys
Default

Also, it will depend on current and future tool capacity. This sounds like it will be multiple circuits. That's why people are recommending a sub-panel. 100amp sub panel then circuits for AC, lighting, outlets, etc.

Some power tools may even want their own circuits. I have a table saw that is on its own 30a 220v line, same with a dust collector. My jointer and my bandsaw are also hooked to 220v lines. My planer is 110v but draws 15a, If I tried to run that with something else on the same 15a circuit at the same time I would trip the breaker. The planer is on a 20a line and gets run at the same time with a dust collector on its own 220 line, lights on their own circuit. If I have someone working with me in the garage there is a possibility of another big tool on at the same time as well. It was all planned out so I would have sufficient power where and when it was needed.



__________________

The Handyguys Podcast [url]http://www.handyguyspodcast.com[/url]

handyguys is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Adding New Circuit to full breaker box vtfan99 Electrical and Wiring 6 01-26-2010 10:18 AM
Circuit breaker box studio78 Electrical and Wiring 1 01-14-2010 04:35 PM
Full circuit breaker box Donna Jean Electrical and Wiring 2 12-31-2008 09:57 PM
Circuit breaker question mmcvicker Electrical and Wiring 19 01-23-2008 04:16 PM
Circuit breaker pops Vreelandjr Electrical and Wiring 10 11-09-2006 07:20 AM