DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > New outlet in workshop




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-01-2012, 06:14 PM  
JeremyB
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 133
Likes Given: 12

Default New outlet in workshop

Hi Guys

I would like to add a new outlet in my workshop and was wondering is this something a DIY'er could do on his own or should I contact a electrician? any help on how to do this wold be great? maybe a tutorial or something?

Thanks

Jeremy



__________________
JeremyB is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-01-2012, 06:41 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 436
Liked 32 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default

Well you question is profoundly vague.

If you want to add a receptacle right under or above an existing one it is super simple. If there is no power anywhere near the new location, and everything is finished walls around, it could be a nightmare.
It all depends on the situation.

Personally I think tutorials for things like this are extremely irresponsible. They treat jobs like this like they are cookie cutter. Nothing could be farther from the truth. Sure, many times a job is exactly like another, if you do this long enough. That said, EVERY job is different in some way, and every situation is different.



__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2012, 04:40 AM  
JeremyB
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 133
Likes Given: 12

Default

Well the spot where I want to add is unfinished and about 3 feet away from the breaker box. Maybe I should just call in a electrician?

__________________
JeremyB is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2012, 07:37 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,169
Liked 100 Times on 88 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

This would be a very easy installation however, the level of difficulty is directly dependant on the skill level of the installer.
No disrespect intended but, I get the feeling your not 100% comfortable with electrical.
You will have to open the breaker panel to make the final hook up and that can be very dangerous as parts of the panel will always be energized.
If you'd like to give it a try, let us know and we can walk you through it.
Post pictures of the circuit path so we are not walking you through this blind.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2012, 12:14 AM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,211
Liked 349 Times on 276 Posts
Likes Given: 137

Default

By code, exposed wiring must be in conduit. If the Romex is inside the wall, then no conduit is required. Unless you know how to add a circuit in your breaker box or how to branch off an existing receptacle then I would NOT try this on your own. Electricians or highly qualified handymen would be your best bet.

__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2012, 02:18 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,169
Liked 100 Times on 88 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CallMeVilla View Post
By code, exposed wiring must be in conduit. If the Romex is inside the wall, then no conduit is required. Unless you know how to add a circuit in your breaker box or how to branch off an existing receptacle then I would NOT try this on your own. Electricians or highly qualified handymen would be your best bet.
Perhaps in CA but, not in MI. Best check your locality to get the requirements.
__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2012, 07:25 AM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 436
Liked 32 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CallMeVilla View Post
By code, exposed wiring must be in conduit.
I agree with KOK. Provided we are talking about cable and not individual conductors, this is NOT true unless your local amendments call for it.
__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2012, 05:44 PM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,211
Liked 349 Times on 276 Posts
Likes Given: 137

Default

Just to be clear, the Romex is allowed to be strung through floor joists in an unfinished basement. However, my concern was the wiring drop along the wall to the receptacle. In CA, once the wiring crosses the plane of the joists, it must be protected in conduit or BX. Are you saying you can staple basic Romex to the basement wall and feed it into the wall mounted receptacle box? Whoa!

__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2012, 07:11 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,169
Liked 100 Times on 88 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CallMeVilla View Post
Just to be clear, the Romex is allowed to be strung through floor joists in an unfinished basement. However, my concern was the wiring drop along the wall to the receptacle. In CA, once the wiring crosses the plane of the joists, it must be protected in conduit or BX. Are you saying you can staple basic Romex to the basement wall and feed it into the wall mounted receptacle box? Whoa!
Romex will be enclosed in EMT or BX where it is subject to damage and/or heat.
i.e.- drop to a furnace, water heater or against a cement wall.


__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Outlet gone bad sirenwerks Electrical and Wiring 4 05-27-2010 04:57 PM
Rewiring outlet? TaskBoy Electrical and Wiring 3 11-26-2008 08:56 PM
Another Outlet Question thenewguy Electrical and Wiring 5 03-06-2008 10:06 PM
New door on workshop msdataman37 Windows and Doors 4 06-30-2007 08:26 AM