DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > new outlets above a buffet - do I need a new circuit?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-16-2011, 08:06 AM  
musicguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 3
Default new outlets above a buffet - do I need a new circuit?

Hi,

I'm installing a built-in buffet in my dining room that will require the relocation of an existing outlet. I've been thinking of simply elevating it by about 30" so that it's above the buffet where I could plug in a lamp. Then I'd like to put in a new outlet on the opposite side of the buffet to mirror it.

I had an electrician in to quote on this, and he insisted that a new circuit would be needed because it would now be classified as a counter-top (even though it's not in the kitchen)... Could anyone tell me if this is indeed the code in Ontario?

Thanks.



__________________
musicguy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2011, 09:22 AM  
donaldr
Lic. Master Electrician
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: san marcos, TX
Posts: 11
Default buffet

If there are no heating elements involved and there is only heat lamps, I see no need for a dedicated circuit. If heating elements are involved you will need a dedicated circuit, Check the manuel that came with the buffet. It will tell you what size circuit is needed if elements are invloved.



__________________
donaldr is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2011, 10:43 AM  
musicguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the input. This buffet is basically a piece of furniture; "sideboard" or "cabinet with a counter-top" is probably a better description. I'm actually just talking about electricity for a couple of table lamps (probably with 40 or 60W bulbs) that I'd like to put on top.

Frankly, a dedicated circuit seems like overkill to me, but I was thinking the fact that the cabinets/sideboard is going to be physically attached to the wall (which is why I can't have the outlets at the normal height) might affect which rules apply...

__________________
musicguy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2011, 01:37 PM  
donaldr
Lic. Master Electrician
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: san marcos, TX
Posts: 11
Default buffet

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicguy View Post
Thanks for the input. This buffet is basically a piece of furniture; "sideboard" or "cabinet with a counter-top" is probably a better description. I'm actually just talking about electricity for a couple of table lamps (probably with 40 or 60W bulbs) that I'd like to put on top.

Frankly, a dedicated circuit seems like overkill to me, but I was thinking the fact that the cabinets/sideboard is going to be physically attached to the wall (which is why I can't have the outlets at the normal height) might affect which rules apply...
Put the plug where you want it . your good to go. Every 100 watts is about 1 amp (rule of thumb)...don
__________________

Local Licensed Master Electrician
[URL="http://appleelect.com"]Apple Electric Enterprises[/URL]
512-393-5274
San Marcos, TX and Surrounding Areas!

donaldr is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2011, 01:40 PM  
donaldr
Lic. Master Electrician
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: san marcos, TX
Posts: 11
Default buffet

No new ckt. required.

__________________

Local Licensed Master Electrician
[URL="http://appleelect.com"]Apple Electric Enterprises[/URL]
512-393-5274
San Marcos, TX and Surrounding Areas!

donaldr is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2011, 07:49 PM  
joecaption
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,361
Liked 38 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Someone's trying to take advantage of you.
About $20.00 worth of materials. I'd leave the old outlets and just daisy chain off of them.

__________________
joecaption is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2011, 08:54 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,904
Liked 814 Times on 727 Posts
Likes Given: 1405

Default

I would just do it also but I think your guy is right about the code.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-17-2011, 08:14 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 952
Liked 101 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

The code requires "at least one receptacle in a dining area forming part of the kitchen" (26-712(d)(vi)). If the area forms part of the kitchen then it must meet the same requirements as a kitchen counter receptacle.
Depending on the layout it may or may not be required.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-18-2011, 07:18 AM  
musicguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for all the input. The dining room is completely separate from the kitchen (you have to walk through a hallway to get between them), so it would seem that kitchen rules should not apply. The good news is that I've since found an electrician who's going to do the work (no new circuit) for a much more reasonable price!



__________________
musicguy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Outlets don't work ripley813 Electrical and Wiring 11 09-04-2013 07:06 PM
how many outlets can 1 GFI protect SeattleDIY Electrical and Wiring 4 12-11-2008 11:52 AM
Installing outlets. Dan208 Electrical and Wiring 6 08-20-2008 04:02 PM
Can I have outlets and overhead on same circuit... bvz Electrical and Wiring 6 04-25-2008 12:42 PM
Pig Tailing outlets Rincon Electrical and Wiring 22 04-03-2008 06:42 PM