DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > No juice to certain outlets




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-20-2010, 04:41 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 968
Liked 102 Times on 84 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by handyguys View Post
oh, and the first dead outlet closest to the panel is the first one I would check.
Or the last working device before the dead one. The problem could be on the outgoing cable and the device would still be working.


__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2010, 03:46 PM  
Mus
Metro Atlanta Electric
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Default

There is a short in the circuit somewhere. It could be a loosewire on a outlet and the power is not feeding the rest of the circuit. A loose wire maynot trip the braker if it does not cause a short (to Ground). Call a Electrician to trouble shoot the circuit for you.

Metro Atlanta Electric
Metro Atlanta Electric | Electricians in Atlanta | (678) 929-PLUG



__________________
Mus is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2010, 06:28 AM  
ohmy
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 53
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Generally, this is a loose wire somewhere. Its often in the outlets or switches with a poor connection was made. If you are brave enough, try checking the outlets in that circuit for a loose connection.

__________________

www.TECertifiedElectricians.com

ohmy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-15-2010, 04:15 PM  
Guru_sparkie
Only tradesmen pull wire!
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Default

In my personal experience - if you're still working on this, I know EXACTLY what your issue is -- but I'm NOT suggesting it is an easy fix...

First of all, you should hire a good electrician and expect to pay a 4 hour minimum. (I wouldn't do it for any less, considering the headaches involved.)

Your problem is:

A loose or improperly joined conductor -- either downstream of the receptacles or in a light device box SOMEWHERE in the house. The best part about this is, it is a NEUTRAL wire that you should be looking for...

Have you installed any new lamps or ceiling fans in the home anywhere?

I can almost guarantee that this is where your problem lies, as I have run into this MANY times on these improperly-wired homes...

Good luck!

__________________
Guru_sparkie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2010, 07:28 AM  
TRW22
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Had this problem in my girlfriends kitchen. A few of her outlets didn't work. It ended up being a loose neutral wire in an outlet causing everything downstream to be inactive also.

Backstabbling outlets should be avoided. I try to pigtail as much as I can so at least if the outlet or switch goes bad, everything downstream will continue to work.

__________________
TRW22 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2010, 09:12 AM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

The fastest way to find the problem, on average:

If you have 10 outlets cascaded and there is power to the first one and not to the last one, start checking at outlet #5.
Then, depending on the results, go upstream or downstream.

__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2010, 11:39 AM  
TRW22
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Agreed. The only hard part is knowing what is upstream or downstream. With most of the wiring hidden in cabinets or behind drywall it can sometimes be a guessing game.

__________________
TRW22 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2010, 11:47 AM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

Some $35 studfinders made by Zircon have a wire-finding option.

If you have working outlets plug in a 10A hair dryer.
For #14 copper, for 10' of wire between outlets, there will be a 260 mV drop between the hots in each outlet. The wire has about 2.6 milliohms per foot of resistance.
Downstream outlets not drawing current will have zero voltage drop between hot leads.

__________________

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 03-17-2010 at 11:52 AM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2010, 09:17 AM  
Lightingguru
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Default

I would try to find the first plug on the circuit and start there.



__________________
Lightingguru is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Outlets don't work ripley813 Electrical and Wiring 11 09-04-2013 07:06 PM
how many outlets can 1 GFI protect SeattleDIY Electrical and Wiring 4 12-11-2008 11:52 AM
Installing outlets. Dan208 Electrical and Wiring 6 08-20-2008 04:02 PM
Pig Tailing outlets Rincon Electrical and Wiring 22 04-03-2008 06:42 PM
Outlets Grounded??? bobo60 Electrical and Wiring 4 03-30-2006 02:14 PM