DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Open Ground




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-29-2012, 11:58 AM  
david542
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sharon, PA
Posts: 19
Default Open Ground

In a small bedroom there are 6 outlets. The last two have an open ground upon inspection the ground wire is twisted around the bare wire that is connected to the green screw. Is this correct or do I need to take the one wire put around green screw? Thanks



__________________
david542 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-29-2012, 01:56 PM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 920
Liked 88 Times on 73 Posts

Default

Twisted is not good enough. You either need a wire nut or a crimp.



__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-29-2012, 02:47 PM  
david542
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sharon, PA
Posts: 19
Default

Can I wire nut the two ground and put around the screw? Please explain about what you having me do. Thanks

__________________
david542 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-29-2012, 03:27 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,147
Liked 94 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Default

What you have is typical of what you find in a ground circuit and should be sufficient for a ground.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-01-2012, 11:47 AM  
david542
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sharon, PA
Posts: 19
Default

If I wire nut the bare wires together then I don't have enough length to put around the screw. I guess my only option is to put back the way it was and leave the outlets with an open ground. I don't like doing things this way. I like doing things the right way.

__________________
david542 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-01-2012, 05:31 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,147
Liked 94 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Default

Put a pig-tail on the ground wires and hook the pig-tail to the ground screw on the outlet.
A pig-tail is nothing more than a short piece of wire 4" or so that is included under the wire nut with all the other ground wires.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2012, 06:41 AM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 920
Liked 88 Times on 73 Posts

Default

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-06-2012, 07:50 AM  
david542
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sharon, PA
Posts: 19
Default

Sorry I didn't get back sooner had a family emergency to take care off. Upon a closer inspection I found three outlets that I am working on are not tired in with other three. The first outlet is grounded proper, but is set is the same with the two that has an open ground. I pig-till the middle one and still have an open ground. Any more Ideas? Thanks

__________________
david542 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-06-2012, 03:53 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,147
Liked 94 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Default

Sounds like the ground wire is not attached to a ground source.
To determine this you could use a volt meter and check voltage readings going from hot to ground. Should read 120V, same as checking voltage between hot and neutral.
You will need to find the other end of the ground wire and all outlets attached to the ground to make sure you have a continous connection of ground through out the circuit.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-07-2012, 10:05 AM  
david542
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sharon, PA
Posts: 19
Default

The first outlet that is grounded proper with out a pig-till is reading the correct voltage. The other two have numbers from hot to ground are lower. Hot to neutral numbers are the same. When I check the outlets on the other side of the room they have no pig-tills and have correct readings.



__________________
david542 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with Open Ground Outlets cmyers1007 Electrical and Wiring 11 06-30-2014 09:26 AM
Garage Door Won't Open All the Way boughtpassat Windows and Doors 10 01-19-2014 07:59 PM
Fortify a Door Noone Needs to Open TayFifer Windows and Doors 11 01-20-2012 12:36 AM
i have an open ground.. mundo Electrical and Wiring 3 05-15-2011 07:35 AM
Open Ground Outlets xiolo Electrical and Wiring 5 10-12-2008 11:06 PM