DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Outlet starts having sparks




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-15-2011, 11:54 PM  
SBay_ecologist
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Santa Clara, california
Posts: 23
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nealtw View Post
I just wanted to make the point that it was dangerous, Perhaps when you have it out and tell us what you found, and someone can tell you what caused it. You do want to match it to the wire and don't buy the cheapest one.
Here is what I found out:
  • The three-prong outlet was put in place of a two-prong outlet, existence of proper grounding is unknown.
  • The connection on the right [see photos] was loose.
  • Sparks and overheating has melted and partially burned the plastic parts of the outlet [see photos].

Photos are at: https://picasaweb.google.com/116812378183066102939/Spark_2?authkey=Gv1sRgCI728v3H9p3A7AE#

Here is what I have done:
  • Replaced the three-prong outlet with a new one.
  • I cut back the bare copper a bit, and cleaned the oxidation/dark matter off.
  • As per one of the options on the outlet packaging, rather than wrapping the wire around the terminal screws, I just inserted the tip of the wires under the them. Tightened them well.

I realize I need to check for proper grounding, that's for later. I have been following another post on replacing two-prong outlets with three-prong ones. Got some ideas from there...


__________________
SBay_ecologist is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-16-2011, 07:13 AM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,230
Liked 840 Times on 751 Posts
Likes Given: 1456

Default

Pick up one of those testers you just plug in and it can tell if the gound is there and if you have there power wire to the correct screw.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-16-2011, 08:01 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 966
Liked 102 Times on 84 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

If there is no ground present you should replace the receptacle with a GFCI version. That is the legal way to install three prong receptacles on ungrounded circuits.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Outlet gone bad sirenwerks Electrical and Wiring 4 05-27-2010 04:57 PM
A/C Question: Just replaced Fan Control Unit and now the Blower false starts cooling redmachodevil HVAC 0 08-10-2008 10:14 AM
Stapling electrical wire triggers sparks pressureseal Electrical and Wiring 9 08-05-2008 10:19 AM
Furnace false starts switaz22 Introductions 1 01-07-2007 12:30 PM
furnace false starts switaz22 HVAC 1 01-07-2007 12:26 PM