DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Outlets and dining room lights don't work




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05-2011, 11:13 AM  
NewEnglandCamper
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Default Outlets and dining room lights don't work

I came home to find out that some of the living room outlets, dining room light, and porch light no longer works. I checked the breaker and everything seems fine.

Could the outlets need to be changed out to fix the problem in the circuit?

Any suggestions?



__________________
NewEnglandCamper is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2011, 11:59 AM  
joecaption
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,361
Liked 38 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Look for a tripped GFI outlet. May even be out on the porch, bathroom or kitchen.



__________________
joecaption is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2011, 01:32 PM  
NewEnglandCamper
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Default

I checked all the GFI outlets. Unless there is a hidden one somewhere. Could it be something else?

__________________
NewEnglandCamper is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2011, 03:32 PM  
joecaption
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,361
Liked 38 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Might be in the Garage.

__________________
joecaption is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2011, 07:05 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 951
Liked 101 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Turn the breaker OFF then ON. Sometimes they still look ON when they are tripped.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2011, 07:08 PM  
AdamFoose1
Junior Member
 
AdamFoose1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
Default

Can anyone help, when buying a old house if all outlets are two prong and there is no ground wire lead there, how do you change them to the three prong outlets? Do I have to add a ground wire some how??

__________________
AdamFoose1 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2011, 10:22 PM  
BridgeMan
Senior Member
 
BridgeMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cottage Grove, Oregon
Posts: 738
Liked 75 Times on 67 Posts

Default

You'd be far better off to run completely new Romex (w/ ground) to all of the outlets, switches and fixtures. Adding just a ground wire would be no easier, but you'd still be living with out-dated insulation (more prone to over-heating and igniting) on the hot and neutral wires in the walls.

Don't even think of cheating by running a short pigtail between the neutral and ground leads of new 3-prong outlets--that's a "no-no".

__________________
BridgeMan is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2011, 06:53 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 951
Liked 101 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

You should not have even mentioned the bootleg ground.

If you truely need the ground then running new cable is the best solution.
If you only need the three prong hole then GFCI is an option. You will still not have a ground connection but can legally replace the two prong receptacles with three prong receptacles if they are GFCI protected.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2011, 07:16 AM  
joecaption
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,361
Liked 38 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Adam it's best if you add your own post so the ansewers you get do not get confused with the orginal posters replys.
By you not having a ground that also tells me you have an undersized main line coming into the house, to small a breaker box and most likly fuses not breakers, under sized and failing wiring behind the walls, not enough outlets per room and no GFI's in the kitchen, bathroom, garage and basement if there is one.

__________________
joecaption is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2011, 10:00 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 951
Liked 101 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Adam it's best if you add your own post so the ansewers you get do not get confused with the orginal posters replys.
By you not having a ground that also tells me you have an undersized main line coming into the house, to small a breaker box and most likly fuses not breakers, under sized and failing wiring behind the walls, not enough outlets per room and no GFI's in the kitchen, bathroom, garage and basement if there is one.
How do you get all these defects from just not having a ground?


__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Bar room instead of dining room Jayson1279 General Home Improvement Discussion 8 08-22-2011 07:54 PM
Need help with smell in dining room DipityDane General Home Improvement Discussion 4 04-03-2011 09:45 PM
Master bedroom placement near dining/living room EdieKay General Home Improvement Discussion 3 04-12-2010 09:01 PM
Dining Room light ideas?? nicoleima Decorating and Design 6 01-12-2010 11:04 PM
Opening up kitchen n dining room.. can i take this post out? Neillo General Home Improvement Discussion 14 03-10-2008 02:03 PM