DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Outlets don't work




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-15-2008, 03:42 PM  
ripley813
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Default Outlets don't work

Hi,

I am a new home owner and my outlets stopped working in all of the bathrooms, garage, and on the patio. The fuse box switch is in the right direction and I've flipped it just to make sure. When I moved in, an outdoor spa came with the house. The previous owners plugged it into a regular outlet and turned one of the prongs on the plug to make it work. It blew the fuse several times and the outlets eventually stopped working.

Because I am a female, I don't want to get ripped off if this is something minor. Can someone tell me what the problem might be or how to fix it/the cost of fixing?

Thanks



__________________
ripley813 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2008, 03:59 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,169
Liked 100 Times on 88 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

I can't tell for sure but, it sounds like the spa was not wired to code if it is taking out other outlets & fixtures.
I also think they had a 20A outlet which would explain the turning of the neutral prong to get a 15A plug to work.
Technically, the problem is a little more than minor if you would like things to be wired up the way they should be.
You'll also have to be somewhat familiar with working with electricity to repair this safely.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2008, 05:57 AM  
CraigFL
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 409
Default

Because you said the outlets were for "bathrooms, garage, and on the patio", the first thing I would suspect is the ground fault interruptor circuit is tripped. This could be in the box as part of the circuit breaker but more likely is on one of the outlets in this location. Code says that you can have one of these GFI type outlets protecting multiple other outlets downline of that one.

Therefore, the first thing you need to do is unplug that Spa, and look at every outlet in those locations. One(or more) may have tripped so that you may need to push the red resert button to make the outlets work.

If that doesn't solve it, excessive tripping of breakers can cause failure so it may need to be replaced.

__________________
CraigFL is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-18-2008, 09:12 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 930
Liked 91 Times on 76 Posts

Default

All those receptacles are supposed to be protect by GFCI. Look around in all the room that have the dead receptacles for the GFCI and reset it. A GFCI is the receptacle with the test and reset button. Look all around the inside of the garage. Often when people say they don't have one, it turns out be in the garage behind a pile of boxes that hasn't moved in years or behind the beer fridge.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2008, 01:13 AM  
triple D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 296
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default progress check

Did you figure it out yet? We dont want you to have to pay someone to do this....Let us know where your at with this.

__________________

[COLOR="DarkGreen"][FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"]See my work-Check out my album. "Git 'Er Done":D [/FONT][/COLOR]

triple D is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2010, 09:18 AM  
Lightingguru
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Default

It sounds like you have an gfi that has tripped in a bathoom our out side. Check all the outlets for a gfi and reset it.

__________________
Lightingguru is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2010, 05:12 PM  
travelover
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 693
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lightingguru View Post
It sounds like you have an gfi that has tripped in a bathoom our out side. Check all the outlets for a gfi and reset it.
Look at the dates - two years ago.
__________________
travelover is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-11-2010, 10:01 AM  
ohmy
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 53
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

I love how she says "ripped off" when she really means don't want to pay a professional. Nothing wrong with cruising the internet for free advice when you can't afford to hire someone but don't insult the professionals while your asking for help.

__________________

www.TECertifiedElectricians.com

ohmy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2011, 12:13 PM  
Scripty
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 4
Default Ripped off

I think what she meant was, if it were a minor problem (e.g. resetting the GFI buttons) she didn't want some "professional" to insist that she had to have her whole house rewired and charge her several thousand dollars.

I had a guy come in to repair my garage door opener (replacing a gear for about $100) and he insisted that my spring needed to be replaced. He claimed they need to be replaced every 5 years of so, and he could do it for $800. I got online immediately and discovered that 1) they don't need to be replaced until they break and 2) the repair shouldn't cost any more than $400.

So some so-called "professionals" are not above trying to bilk the inexperienced (especially women) into paying for pricey unnecessary work.

__________________
Scripty is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2011, 04:54 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 436
Liked 32 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scripty View Post
I think what she meant was, if it were a minor problem (e.g. resetting the GFI buttons) she didn't want some "professional" to insist that she had to have her whole house rewired and charge her several thousand dollars.
First off, this is about a broad and dramatic a generalization as I have heard in a while.
Second, please check the dates of the pots you are replying to. This one is 8 months old.


__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Sudden low voltage from electrical outlets? Harryc Electrical and Wiring 12 04-05-2013 05:43 PM
What should we charge for porch work? jmc220 Bricks, Masonry and Concrete 3 10-14-2008 05:20 PM
Open Ground Outlets xiolo Electrical and Wiring 5 10-12-2008 11:06 PM
Enough room for hanging duct work Mudball HVAC 2 08-16-2006 06:01 PM
Outlets Grounded??? bobo60 Electrical and Wiring 4 03-30-2006 02:14 PM