DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Outlets Not Working




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-03-2013, 10:01 PM  
Landon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Default Outlets Not Working

Hi!

There are 2 bathrooms in my home that the AC Outlets do not work. However, the lights do work if you turn them on for both bathrooms. How can the lights still work but the AC Outlets does not work?

I went and did a reset for the 2 bathrooms but all the ac outlets for the 2 bathrooms still not working. The first bathroom only have 1 ac outlet. The second bathroom got 2 ac outlets.

Any advice would be great!!



__________________
Landon is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2013, 10:16 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,766
Liked 802 Times on 715 Posts
Likes Given: 1362

Default

Welcome to the site.
Lights and outlets are often on different circuits. Bathroom outlets should be protected by a groundfault plug. The plug will have a test and reset button between the two plug ins at one outlet. It can protect meny outlets downstream so it may not be in the bathroom. It may be in the kitchen or nearby bedroom. Some have a green light when they are working and some have a red light when they are tripped. That would be my first guess, if not you may want to check breakers again, some don't look like they have tripped but you have to turn them fully off and back on again.
If non of that works we will be looking for a loose connection in a box somewhere in the house.



__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2013, 07:16 AM  
Housedoctor57
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 40
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Check any of your outside and basement GFIC outlets also. Builders like to save a few bucks and use as few GFICs as possible.

__________________
Housedoctor57 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2013, 07:23 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,179
Liked 104 Times on 91 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

open up the outlets and check for line voltage to the outlet. could be a bad outlet or broken connection.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2013, 08:14 AM  
Landon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for everyone help!

The outlets that I have do not have the test and reset button or the green light. These outlets are the plain ones.

I will try some of your suggestions today.

Thanks all!!

__________________
Landon is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2013, 08:40 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 947
Liked 99 Times on 81 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Landon View Post
The outlets that I have do not have the test and reset button or the green light. These outlets are the plain ones.
They could still be protected by a GFCI in another location. The garage, outside or basement are common locations.
__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2013, 08:43 AM  
Housedoctor57
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 40
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Check out this link to explain the wiring. If your bathroom ckts are downstream, you will not have reset or green lights but still protected.

http://ths.gardenweb.com/forums/load/wiring/msg061608073529.html

__________________
Housedoctor57 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2013, 09:01 AM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

An open GFCI opens both the hot & neutral connection so if that's the case almost certainly there is a GFCI upstream somewhere that needs a reset.
It's otherwise unlikely that you'd lose both hot & neutral.

To test the hot, run an incand. lamp in a pigtail socket from a known good ground to the hot connection (should be the short slot) of the dead outlets. You'll need an extension cord as a test lead and you'll need clip leads. A plug inserted and then pulled 1/8" out of the sockets/outlets/receptacles will give you a good electrical connection to the socket's interior spring loaded blades.
Be careful and wear eye protection because if you short a hot line, little globs of molten copper or aluminum will be flying through the air.

To test the neutral, run an incand. lamp in a pigtail socket from a known good hot connection of some outlet to the neutral connection (should be the long slot) of the dead outlets.

Then you'll have to find out why the GFCI tripped.



__________________

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 02-04-2013 at 09:13 AM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Outlets not working MH2delboy Electrical and Wiring 1 12-23-2011 03:27 PM
Multiple outlets not working sadears Electrical and Wiring 19 11-29-2011 09:44 AM
4 Wall Outlets Not Working JazWilliams Electrical and Wiring 3 11-27-2011 04:11 PM
No juice to certain outlets sidewalkdrop Electrical and Wiring 18 05-07-2010 09:17 AM
Outlets Grounded??? bobo60 Electrical and Wiring 4 03-30-2006 02:14 PM