DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > A pair of three-ways




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-29-2009, 09:59 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 965
Liked 102 Times on 84 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

It is not code compliant. The neutral and hot must be in the same cable to pass cod.



__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-29-2009, 11:55 AM  
rdmayers
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 12
Default

Joe Did you look a the drawing slownsteady posted on one of his threads. It clearly shows the hot and the neutral in the same cable. They use the lighting box to do there make up. There is nothing in the drawing he posted that was a code infraction as long as it is done in romex and not single conductors. The way it looks it was probable done done as part of remodel. It is not they way i would wire it but i could not find anything in the nec that prohibit it from being done this way.



__________________

Last edited by rdmayers; 11-29-2009 at 01:17 PM. Reason: do not have time to finish at the time i posted
rdmayers is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2009, 07:15 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 965
Liked 102 Times on 84 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

The drawing I see shows the fixture neutral going to 'other neutrals', not back to the switch box and with the travelers back to the source. It wouldn't be the first time someone picked up neutrals from another box and that is wrong.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2009, 03:33 PM  
slownsteady
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
slownsteady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Newton, NJ
Posts: 1,082
Liked 148 Times on 127 Posts
Likes Given: 200

Default

Glad i checked back in.....

The neutral is on the same circuit, it just bypasses both switches. That's the reason i posted the question in the first place....

__________________
slownsteady is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On