DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Piggy-back breaker for dryer?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-22-2009, 04:57 PM  
Kevinsalias
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Default Piggy-back breaker for dryer?

I just purchased an additional dryer for my wife. My breaker box is a Federal Pacific and I need a thick 30A breaker for the dryer. Unfortunately, I don't have room for another one. I read elsewhere that there exists something refered to as a "piggy-back" breaker. 1) Is this a realistic solution for my problem? 2) Do such breakers exist for my Federal Pacific box? 3) If yes to questions 1 & 2, where might I find or order one and how will it be listed? What specifically should I ask for? Any help or advise would be greatly appreciated!



__________________
Kevinsalias is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-22-2009, 05:11 PM  
slownsteady
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
slownsteady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Newton, NJ
Posts: 769
Liked 100 Times on 87 Posts
Likes Given: 124

Default

I'm no expert here, but yes, there are piggyback breakers (and I'm pretty sure it will be called a piggyback breaker). Basically it's two breaker switches side-by-side on the same unit. I've seen 15A units and maybe 20A. I would guess that you won't find a 30A piggyback. But you could get a 15A (or two) and make some room in your box by moving stuff around.

Be REAL careful if you go into the box yourself!!! Maybe not worth diy if you're not comfortable there.



__________________
slownsteady is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-22-2009, 07:37 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,165
Liked 99 Times on 87 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

I assume your trying to piggyback two household circuits and not the dryer itself.
If the dryer is 240VAC then you surely do not want to piggy back the dryer, it requires a separate phase for each leg. You will have to move two circuits to two piggybacks in order to open up space for a two pole 30A breaker. Effectively, having to reroute 4 existing circuits.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-22-2009, 07:48 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 433
Liked 31 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default

There are 30A 2-pole FPE skinny breakers.

__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Looking to give back handyguys Introductions 0 02-21-2008 08:25 PM
moving breaker box shan2themax Electrical and Wiring 4 02-12-2008 07:41 PM
Back in the Shop Daryl in Nanoose Carpentry and Woodworking 8 02-13-2007 09:45 PM
Breaker Box Questions katinaak Electrical and Wiring 9 07-21-2006 07:31 AM
Back From Italy jcambece General Chit-Chat 3 05-04-2006 10:25 AM