DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Power to light then switch, outlet between?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2013, 07:00 AM  
scott23
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Default Power to light then switch, outlet between?

This looks like a great forum and I am hoping someone can help.

I have power coming into a light fixture which then goes to the switch. The wall in between currently has some of the sheetrock off for some other work and I have access to the wiring in between and to the switch but not all the way up to the fixture itself. How can I add an outlet between the fixture and switch? The wire is 12-2(maybe 14-2). Is this possible without 3 wire?



__________________
scott23 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2013, 07:04 AM  
ohmy
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 53
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

You will have to see how the circuit is wired. If the switch is "key" which means the original electrician only sent a switch leg down to the switch from the light you cannot use it. If you have a neutral than you can.

The easiest way to check is to see how many wires come from the switch box. If there is only one, I highly doubt you have a neutral which means you need to get your power somewhere else. If there are multiple wires coming from your switch box then you might have a neutral and could tie into that box.



__________________

www.TECertifiedElectricians.com

ohmy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2013, 07:08 AM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,255
Liked 844 Times on 754 Posts
Likes Given: 1461

Default

Only if the wire to the switch is 14/3 or 12/3 and welcome to the site.

__________________
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2013, 07:21 AM  
ohmy
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 53
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nealtw View Post
Only if the wire to the switch is 14/3 or 12/3 and welcome to the site.
What if its a dead end 3-way? If its a 12/3 or 14/3, it's most likely for a 3-way tapped in the fixture and will not have a neutral.
__________________

www.TECertifiedElectricians.com

ohmy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2013, 07:50 AM  
scott23
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Default

There is a white, black and ground wire from the light to the switch. Here is an image.(yellow is the white) I want to add the outlet between them. I currently only have access to the wiring from the proposed outlet to the switch. If I had to I could run another wire from the switch to the outlet.

__________________
scott23 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2013, 07:50 AM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,255
Liked 844 Times on 754 Posts
Likes Given: 1461

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ohmy View Post
What if its a dead end 3-way? If its a 12/3 or 14/3, it's most likely for a 3-way tapped in the fixture and will not have a neutral.
He or I said nothing about a 3-way. Many people will confuse the white of a switch leg for neutral. so the easier answer is "no"
__________________
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2013, 07:55 AM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,255
Liked 844 Times on 754 Posts
Likes Given: 1461

Default

As pointed out the white and black carry power to and from the switch and you don't have neutral so you would need another wire to the light box.

__________________
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2013, 08:02 AM  
scott23
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks everyone for the very quick replies, this forum rocks. I was afraid of that answer though.

So with adding no wiring, could I at least add an outlet knowing it will be off when the light is off?

__________________
scott23 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2013, 08:21 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 966
Liked 102 Times on 84 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

No you can not. You do not have a neutral wire.



__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Rewiring an outlet connected to a light switch Manths Electrical and Wiring 7 08-20-2013 10:50 AM
GFI Outlet / Seperate Light Switch - Light won't turn off!? cheri28 Electrical and Wiring 46 03-15-2013 01:42 PM
Help with light/switch/2 Outlet wiring stevevz Electrical and Wiring 8 08-23-2012 07:13 AM
Possible bad switch or outlet cause power outage in three rooms? Fiero2 Electrical and Wiring 4 06-01-2011 10:32 PM
night light power outlet jboogie408 Electrical and Wiring 3 11-20-2008 06:24 PM