DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Replaced outlet connected to a switch and removed the tab




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-08-2010, 06:57 PM  
philomena
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Default Replaced outlet connected to a switch and removed the tab

I replaced an outlet in the master bedroom that has one outlet connected to two light switches in the room. There is another outlet that is also connected to these two switches. After replacing the one outlet, the switches stopped working even though I removed the metal tab on the gold side (hot wire) side. Other things i have tried include:
putting the old outlet back
switching the black and red wires from top to bottom
checking that all wires are secure
tightening the screws (even though the wires are connected via the holes in the back of the outlet that you can just stick the wires into).

Any other ideas on what went wrong?

Thanks



__________________
philomena is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2010, 07:04 PM  
Wuzzat?
Senior Member
 
Wuzzat?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,222
Liked 150 Times on 137 Posts
Likes Given: 80

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by philomena View Post
I replaced an outlet
duplex?

in the master bedroom that has one outlet connected to two light switches in the room.
3 way switches?

There is another outlet that is also connected to these two switches.
?

Any other ideas on what went wrong?

Thanks
Need clarification.
__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2010, 08:08 PM  
philomena
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Default

A single outlet with two spots to put a plug in (your standard outlet)

I think it is a 3 way switch but not sure. There are two switches that control the outlet I didn't change and I think the switch also controls one of the plugs of the outlet I did change.

Hope that clarifies things.

__________________
philomena is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Can the base of this window frame be repaired or does it have to be replaced? edanthony Windows and Doors 2 07-13-2009 04:45 PM
How are 30amp & 50 amp plugs connected? Scott447 Electrical and Wiring 10 07-11-2009 09:08 PM
Lennox Fan Motor needs replaced? gogoguy HVAC 2 05-24-2009 07:40 AM
Just replaced capacitor but air not cold anymore traynor HVAC 3 08-06-2008 10:17 PM
Switch/Outlet not working (6 wires) fb0605 Electrical and Wiring 5 03-23-2008 10:33 PM