DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Replacing 2 prong outlet + wires might have been switched




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2011, 12:45 PM  
jeffcarlson1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 3
Default Replacing 2 prong outlet + wires might have been switched

I recently changed a two prong outlet to a three prong. I am going to get GFI today and switch it out after reading online that it was not well advised just to replace the two prong outlet with 3 prong. I think when I hooked up the outlet I may have switched the hot wire and the neutral wire. Is this something that needs to be fixed immediately. Also how can I tell which wire is the hot wire. I assume it's the black one but the wires are old Knob and Tube so I am second guessing myself. Is it possible a black wire could be the neutral. Power should run regardless how its hooked up , even if I did switch the wires and incorrectly connect, right?

Also why can't you replace 2 prong outlets with 3 Prong. What's the reasoning?



__________________

Last edited by jeffcarlson1; 12-11-2011 at 01:02 PM. Reason: Added something on
jeffcarlson1 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2011, 10:14 PM  
evstarr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 27
Default

That third prong is an equipment or safety ground. It's purpose is to provide electricity an alternate path to ground besides thru you in the event that you are handling some appliance that suffers a fault.
You should invest in an inexpensive non contact voltage tester and identify the hot wire with it and install it on the correct terminals of your outlet.

By code, you can replace a 2 prong ungrounded receptacle with a gfci only if you clearly label it and any others connected to it's load side as "no equipment ground present"

The larger issue is that knob and tube wiring. It was never designed to carry the loads that a house full of appliances put on a circuit and, particularly if it's been interfered with or added onto, it is a significant fire hazard.



__________________
evstarr is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2011, 11:38 PM  
jeffcarlson1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the info. Will a GFCI really provide some safety even If there is no ground available. I read online that it will but was wondering how if it's not grounded. Also I was at the store looking at GFCI outlets and saw no such sticker to identify the outlet with as "no equipment ground " Shouldn't it come with it.

__________________
jeffcarlson1 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2011, 12:55 AM  
evstarr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 27
Default

The gfci will help protect the user at the outlet by tripping if there is a ground fault. Normally the path of least resistance would be the ground conductor back to a water pipe or ground electrode and dissipates to earth. In the absence of a ground wire, the current would go thru you to earth. Gfci operate by detecting if there is any difference in the current flowing between hot and neutral that might indicate that someone is about to zapped. They will not prevent all chance of injury or damage to property but it's a darn sight better than nothing. Note that you can feed and protect additional outlets downstream of the gfci by connecting to the load terminals on the gfci.

remember that you need to label them by code because it is not obvious to the observer that there would be anything nonstandard about those outlets just by looking at them

Purely my opinion but I don't imagine that the manufacturer wants to be liable for suggesting that their product should be a substitute for a properly and safely installed circuit. I guess they figure if they supply such labels then they are tacitly agreeing that its a good long term solution.

That knob and tube needs to come out. If you overload it, the joints or even the conductors could heat enough to start a fire. Don't bury it in insulation.

Good luck!

__________________

Last edited by evstarr; 12-12-2011 at 01:03 AM.
evstarr is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2011, 01:32 PM  
SBay_ecologist
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Santa Clara, california
Posts: 23
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

How about connecting the ground on the outlet to the junction box --I have metal ones-- with a pig tail?

I am doing the same thing: Replacing all my two-prong outlets with three-prong ones.

Where it is possible, I will get a copper wire connect the ground-prong hole to my grounding rod. Where it is difficult, I am planning the ground-prong hole to connect to the junction box.

Thanks
-----------------------------------

__________________
SBay_ecologist is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2011, 03:53 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,147
Liked 94 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Default

And what makes you think the junction box is grounded ?

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2011, 04:48 PM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 8,953
Liked 683 Times on 612 Posts
Likes Given: 1203

Default

Put one gfi outlet on each cercuit that can not be grounded.

__________________
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2011, 07:35 PM  
jeffcarlson1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 3
Default

KnT has to stay in. I am renting the place so they will not re-wire. I was just looking for a fix for two outlets that can't hold plugs in very well. Thanks for all the info.

Just out of curiosity what will happen if you hook up an outlet with wires reversed. Will you still get power? Should a 3 prong plug tester detect the reversed wiring.

__________________
jeffcarlson1 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2011, 07:44 PM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 920
Liked 88 Times on 73 Posts

Default

You should not be doing anything in a rented building. It is the landlords responsibly to repair it. You are opening yourself up to a ton of possible liability issues if something goes wrong in the future.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2011, 09:03 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,147
Liked 94 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Default

You will still get power with the outlet wires reversed.
This will show up as an incorrect wiring on a 3-prong plug tester.
Most appliances are double insulated and that is why they only have a 2-prong plug and not a 3-prong plug.
You'll notice that most plugs and outlets are polarized. The neutral plug (left side) is the larger than the hot side to ensure that you don't get the wires reversed. However, you have managed to defeat that precaution by not determing which is hot and which is neutral. Use your tester and make corrections as necessary.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Restoring a hot switched outlet... JackB_Nymble Electrical and Wiring 6 09-08-2009 05:48 PM
Switched Lights in an Outlet Circuit drewje Electrical and Wiring 5 07-21-2009 11:57 PM
change outlet w/ 3 wires to GFCI Dave928 Electrical and Wiring 10 05-14-2008 07:44 PM
Switch/Outlet not working (6 wires) fb0605 Electrical and Wiring 5 03-23-2008 10:33 PM
Converting two prong to three prong plugs heavyfoot Electrical and Wiring 3 07-12-2006 10:24 PM