DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Replacing Old Fluorescent Light Ballasts with New Ballasts




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-14-2014, 05:37 PM  
1victorianfarmhouse
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 150
Liked 9 Times on 5 Posts

Default Replacing Old Fluorescent Light Ballasts with New Ballasts

I have an old fluorescent light in my basement that doesn't work. I've tried replacing both 4' bulbs, and both starters with no luck. The Starring and Co. ballast is dated Jan 9, 1957, and has some sticky stuff oozing out of it and has an old electrical smell. I'm guessing this might be the culprit..... The other light in the system works fine.

On the left side it has a black wire and a black/white wire, and is marked LINE and Lights 1&2. One the right side is marked Lamp #1 and Lamp #2, with a black wire and a black/red wire.

My question is to install the new ballast, is all I need to do is just connect the existing black and white wires to the new ballast, and the new blue and red wires as shown in the diagram on the new ballast in the photo? No starters needed?

Photo of old and new ballasts attached.

OF COURSE I will shut off the appropriate breaker before doing anything!

Thanks!

vince



ballasts.jpg  
__________________

Last edited by 1victorianfarmhouse; 02-14-2014 at 05:41 PM.
1victorianfarmhouse is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2014, 06:03 PM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 8,942
Liked 677 Times on 606 Posts
Likes Given: 1200

Default

Handle with care the leaking goop is pcb. When you get this figured out change anything older than 1979
http://www.epa.gov/waste/hazard/tsd/pcbs/pubs/ballasts.htm



__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2014, 06:49 PM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 916
Liked 86 Times on 72 Posts

Default

Yes. Wire like the diagram on the ballast.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2014, 06:51 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,145
Liked 94 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Default

Check around, it might be easier and cheaper to replace the entire fixture.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2014, 06:55 PM  
1victorianfarmhouse
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 150
Liked 9 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Thanks, Neal....yah, there might be some PCBs involved, will need to check the other two sets too, though they work.

And thank you Joe, as well. With stuff like this I don't like to play trial and error even though it looks simple.

vince

__________________
1victorianfarmhouse is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2014, 07:20 PM  
1victorianfarmhouse
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 150
Liked 9 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Thanks, kok, I already bought the ballasts a while ago, so I'm stuck with them. The old light fixtures are fine, and anything new would require redoing the mounting. I am planning to buy another new pair to add some additional light on the other side of the room, though.

vince

__________________
1victorianfarmhouse is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-15-2014, 06:05 AM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 427
Liked 26 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

You will definitely have to re-wire the whole fixture. Most likely this fixture has starters that will have to be eliminated. Sometimes it can look complicated, but every wire is shown in the diagram on the ballast so if you take your time you should be able to figure it out.

__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-15-2014, 07:11 AM  
Wuzzat?
Senior Member
 
Wuzzat?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,182
Liked 140 Times on 127 Posts
Likes Given: 79

Default

If the fixture is not grounded it probably won't work reliably. There is capacitance between the tubes and the metal housing and this is necessary for the tubes to "start".

Match the tubes to the ballast.

There is a small chance that the fixture still won't work with a new ballast and tubes. In this case there is a bad connection or broken wire.

I doubt the new ballast will last 57 years, regardless of what the GE's computer projections say.



__________________

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 02-15-2014 at 07:51 AM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Changing Ballast on Fluorescent Ceiling Light 06Honda Electrical and Wiring 10 07-17-2013 08:28 PM
Replacing fluorescent fixture Yod12 Electrical and Wiring 1 09-03-2012 05:01 PM
Fluorescent Light Repair Pete491 Electrical and Wiring 2 07-21-2011 04:00 AM
Is 20 Amp breaker too big for a fluorescent light toadylama Electrical and Wiring 6 07-11-2009 08:05 PM