DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Rewiring an outlet connected to a light switch




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-13-2013, 01:47 PM  
Manths
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Likes Given: 3

Default Rewiring an outlet connected to a light switch

Hi! I have looked online for an answer to this but it doesn't seem like any answer really addresses my issue.

I have a bedroom light switch connected to an oulet. I replaced the switch a couple years ago and it I was still able to turn a night stand lamp off and on with the switch until I tried replace the outlet last year. The old outlet was 30 years old so I couldn't match the wiring configuration to the new outlet - they looked totally different. Here is what the outlet has box has:

-1 black wire
-1 white wire
-1 red wire
-1 ground wire

I tried every configuration I could come up with to no avail! Can anyone tell me what the configuration is? I would SO appreciate it!



__________________
Manths is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-13-2013, 08:30 PM  
Drywallinfo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 140
Liked 27 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

I could guess at what you have, but it would be just that: a guess. Not what you want to base your home wiring on. I would advise you to find a friend that has a voltmeter and a little experience to help out.



__________________
Drywallinfo is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-13-2013, 10:19 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,145
Liked 94 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Default

Drywall has a very good point. We can only guess as to what is going on. I speculate that this outlet had the bridge removed and one plug was switched and the other was constant and both sharing the same neutral. The only valid combinations would be black/white/ground or red/white/ground. What color wires do you have in the switch box? Can you test for voltage on the above mentioned wiring combinations with & without the switch on?

__________________
kok328 is offline  
Manths Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-15-2013, 11:37 AM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 916
Liked 86 Times on 72 Posts

Default

Did you break the tab off between the gold coloured screws? The receptacle was only half switched. The black and red are the two power sources. One is always hot. The other one is the switched line. You need to break the tab so the hot one does not keep the switched one on.
The connect the black and red to the two gold screws. Connect the white to one of the silver screws. Leave the tab on the silver alone.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
2
People Like This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2013, 08:49 AM  
Manths
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Likes Given: 3

Default

Thanks Joe D! I had read about breaking off the tab on other blogs but I am not quite sure what that means. On the outlet I have, there is a black rubber piece that sits in between the 2 screws - I thought that was what I was supposed to pull out but I couldn't get it out. Then there is a gold tab that sticks out but it is really small and hard to break off. Is that what I am trying to break off? Do I just need to use needle nose pliers to be able to grab that piece? I just didn't know if it should be that difficult. Thanks again!

__________________
Manths is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2013, 08:50 AM  
Manths
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Likes Given: 3

Default

Thanks - this info. is helpful as well! I will ask around and see if can find someone with a voltmeter to test the voltage.

__________________
Manths is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2013, 08:58 AM  
bud16415
Fixer Upper
 
bud16415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Erie Pa, Pa
Posts: 930
Liked 266 Times on 214 Posts
Likes Given: 95

Default

http://www.easy-do-it-yourself-home-improvements.com/how-to-wire-a-split-receptacle.html
__________________
bud16415 is offline  
2
People Like This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-20-2013, 10:50 AM  
Manths
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Likes Given: 3

Default

Thank you bud16415! This is exactly what I needed to see!



__________________
Manths is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
GFI Outlet / Seperate Light Switch - Light won't turn off!? cheri28 Electrical and Wiring 46 03-15-2013 01:42 PM
Help with light/switch/2 Outlet wiring stevevz Electrical and Wiring 8 08-23-2012 07:13 AM
Switch rewiring help (adding a swtich) Dimeron Electrical and Wiring 6 01-05-2011 03:26 PM
Replaced outlet connected to a switch and removed the tab philomena Electrical and Wiring 2 07-08-2010 08:08 PM
Rewiring outlet? TaskBoy Electrical and Wiring 3 11-26-2008 08:56 PM