DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Service Outlet




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-13-2010, 06:32 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,173
Liked 102 Times on 89 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default Service Outlet

I was short on outlets in the basement and didn't want to run wire from the light fixtures and/or existing outlets.

So I mounted an outlet on the side of the furnace cabinet, ran 14AWG MC from the service switch of the furnace across the inside of the furnace through an existing manufacturer hole in the furnace cabinet into the back of a 2x4 outlet box and installed a single duplex outlet on the outside of the furnace cabinet.

I made sure to keep the run away from any heat and/or gas lines and made the outlet non-switch by tapping into the line side of the service switch.

Now I'm wondering if I violated code.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2010, 07:31 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 436
Liked 32 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

What you did was fine. The only thing I can think of was did you need a GFI?



__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-14-2010, 05:35 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,173
Liked 102 Times on 89 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

I didn't install one because the absence of open water within 24" of the outlet.
The only thing I can think of is that when someone turns off the furnace service switch it then expected for all wires inside the cabinet to be dead.
The MC run will still be hot but, it will also be inaccessible in terms of contact.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-14-2010, 01:49 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 436
Liked 32 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kok328 View Post
I didn't install one because the absence of open water within 24" of the outlet.
I am not sure where you came up with this requirement, but none such exists, in the US at least.

If this is in an unfinished portion of the basement it must be GFI protected.
__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-14-2010, 03:04 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,173
Liked 102 Times on 89 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

The house was built in 1997 and all the outlets in the unfinished basement were not GFIC. Got the GFIC logic from bathrooms & kitchens.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-14-2010, 04:16 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 436
Liked 32 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

Well then someone did not do the right thing. I suspect it was both the contractor and the inspector, because ALL 120v 12 & 20 amp receptacles in unfinished basements and crawls must be GFI protected. This has been in effect since before 1997.
Are you sure they are not protected? They do not all have to be GFI devices, there may be a GFI somewhere, like at the panel, that is protecting all the others.


Your GFI logic regarding baths and kitchens is also a bit skewed. There was never any 24" rule. ALL receptacles in bathrooms must be GFI protected, and ALL kitchen counter receptacles must also be. The old rule for kitchens was within 6' of a sink, but this was changed quite a while ago to all counter receps.

__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-14-2010, 06:05 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,173
Liked 102 Times on 89 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

Thanks for the GFI ruling.
As far as the GFI protected outlets, one is a single use outlet for the sump pump the other is a single duplex for the washer and last one is just a convience outlet.
I think the convience outlet is on the circuit with the porch outlet and is protected but, the other two are not and there are no GFI breakers in the panel.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-16-2010, 10:15 PM  
triple D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 296
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default code requires gfi..

the service/convience outlet located in relation to furnace must be gfi protected, as it is assumed repair personnel will be utilizing this to do there duties on the furnace. I think if I looked hard, you are only permissed this "service plug" to be tapped off the furnace circuit. Certainly no general purpose outlets are to be added to this circuit. Your local inspector missed the unfinished basement gfi protection as well on his final. But putting a gfi on this will make it the "service plug" for the furnace, as long as it stays on when the furnace is switched off for repair. Hope this helps some...

__________________

[COLOR="DarkGreen"][FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"]See my work-Check out my album. "Git 'Er Done":D [/FONT][/COLOR]

triple D is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-17-2010, 05:26 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,173
Liked 102 Times on 89 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

Actually this is intended as a general purpose outlet but, if anyone asks, it is a service outlet. There is an outlet within 10' of the furnace so in my case a true service outlet was never installed. I'm also thinking that if the inspector missed the original non-GFI outlets, they will surely miss this one, it blends in with the equipment.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-18-2010, 02:28 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,173
Liked 102 Times on 89 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

Changed the outlet to GFI.
My intent for this outlet remains a "convience outlet" but, again, if asked it is a "service outlet". Being that I do my HAVC work, I guess I'm the only one to benefit from its install.
Thanks guys.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading to 200 Amp Service Vikeologist Electrical and Wiring 15 08-21-2014 06:25 PM
new electrical service wilco3 Electrical and Wiring 2 05-11-2010 10:11 AM
Service Entrance tomtoolman12345 Roofing and Siding 1 04-07-2008 07:19 AM
Service Panel onryx2 Electrical and Wiring 2 08-21-2006 07:18 PM
Shop Vac service mickmar Tools 0 11-14-2005 02:42 PM