DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Service panel connection.




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-26-2007, 04:19 PM  
Parrothead
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: , WI
Posts: 65
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedy petey View Post
I'd run an actual ground wire in ANY case. I've seen way too many compromised conduit systems to rely solely on that.

Actually, he has to. As of the '05 NEC, conduits are no longer acceptable as equipment grounds. You MUST run a ground wire.

Oh, and I haven't checked in in awhile either.......


__________________
Parrothead is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2007, 02:35 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 431
Liked 28 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Parrothead View Post
Actually, he has to. As of the '05 NEC, conduits are no longer acceptable as equipment grounds.
You must mean after the 2005 NEC. I can't comment as I do not have a copy of 2008 yet.


__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2007, 03:44 PM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,992
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Common neutral wires work in a lot of situations but our local electrical inspector wants to check the amps on the commons to be sure they are not overloaded. If your power wires are under the maximum rated load, the common is too. Then, if the common is connected to more than one power wire it can heat up pretty quickly.
Glenn

__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2007, 05:41 PM  
480sparky
Junior Member
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedy petey View Post
You must mean after the 2005 NEC. I can't comment as I do not have a copy of 2008 yet.

From the 2005 AND 2008 NEC: (there are no changes in 2008 for this section)

250.118. Types of Equipment Grounding Conductors. The equipment grounding conductor run with or enclosing the circuit conductors shall be one or a combination of the following:

(1) A copper, aluminum, or copper-clad aluminum conductor.....
(2) Rigid metal conduit.
(3) Intermediate metal conduit.
(4) Electrical Meallic tubing.
(5) Listed flexible metal conduit......
(6) Listed liquidtight flexable metal conduit....
(7) Flexible metallic tubing......
(8) Armor of Type AC cable......
(9) The copper sheath of mineral-insulated, metal-sheathed cable.
(10) Type MC cable where listed and identified for grounding.....
(11) Cable trays....
(12) Cablebus framework....
(13) Other listed electrically continuous metal raceways and listed auxilliary gutters.
(14) Surface metal raceways listed for grounding.

(portions edited because I didn't want to type all the little details)



So yes, you can still use the raceway as a ground.
__________________

Last edited by 480sparky; 12-29-2007 at 05:45 PM.
480sparky is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2007, 05:59 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 431
Liked 28 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

Yup. Looks like what I read.

BTW- You typed all that??? Boy, we need to get you a CD!

__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2007, 07:48 PM  
480sparky
Junior Member
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedy petey View Post
Yup. Looks like what I read.

BTW- You typed all that??? Boy, we need to get you a CD!

I have the '05 CD, but I typed it from the 2008 before I realized there were no changes from the '05
__________________
480sparky is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2008, 10:34 AM  
Hack
Senior Member
 
Hack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 194
Default

Thanks for all the input guys!

So I ended up cutting an 18" X 18" hole in the sidewall of the house from inside the attic (just above the top of the conduit run). I put hinges and a latch on the door so it opens into the attic. Later, I'll probably put an attic fan there, or just a louvered vent. This was much easier and safer than a 40' ladder...

Running the wire was much easier than I thought after that. After pulling the 4 wire romex out of the run, I ran a fish tape UP through the conduit and pulled the wire down the run. I was in the attic and my wife on the ground. She didn't even really have to pull. I just dropped the wires down through the run and the weight of the fish wire and tape pulled them down.

All my electrical and plumbing is now done and inspected (we closed the office for 11 days for X-Mas so I had the time to work on the bathroom).

I've also got drywall up and inspected as well...should be done in a month or two (Now that I'm back at work again...)



__________________

Hack (a.k.a. Jeff)

Hack is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
do 150 amp service panel exist? turfgrass Electrical and Wiring 10 07-23-2011 07:36 AM
Exterior breaker panel for adding a barn jayhalfpipe Electrical and Wiring 3 11-01-2008 10:35 AM
Panel or subpanel rjarrett001 Electrical and Wiring 5 02-14-2008 05:22 PM
Service/breaker panel capacity question... tenderton Electrical and Wiring 1 10-13-2006 05:08 AM
Service Panel onryx2 Electrical and Wiring 2 08-21-2006 07:18 PM