DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Starting to re-wire kitchen.




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-13-2006, 06:23 PM  
tooltime
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 48
Default Starting to re-wire kitchen.

1st Eelectrical group in kitchen.

Well, here goes I think.
below is a diagram for wiring up some outlets, primarily on a center wall in my house.
#'s 2 and 4 are facing on the outside wall (Living room). #'s 5 & 6 primarily appliances (toaster, coffe pot, can opener, blender). #3 is for water dispenser. #7 & 8 On sepreate wall, but not really expecting very much use on them as they will be on the wall w/ the dining table.
As you can see, I start the circuit off with a GFI, then to another outlet, then into a junction box and split. Im fairly sure the entire circuit will be protected by the GFI, but not positive. I have read that the circuit cannot be shared, so will #2 & 4 need to be tied into the living room circuit, or wil this be ok?


*Edit: There was a typo party going on



__________________

If you want it done right, guess you gotta do it yourself. :D


Last edited by tooltime; 09-13-2006 at 06:28 PM.
tooltime is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2006, 09:39 PM  
petey_racer
Licensed Electrician
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 105
Default

Circuits feeding receptacles in the kitchen and "related rooms" (pantry, nook, DR, etc) may NOT be shared with other rooms.
I would run two circuits for what you are doing, PLUS tying 2&4 to the existing LR circuit. If the LR is well loaded already I would bring a new circuit for that as well.

Also, I would not use a j-box. Just run from one receptacle to the next.

Remember, only receptacles serving kitchen counters require GFI protection.



__________________

Please post back and let us know how it turns out....

petey_racer is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-14-2006, 04:40 PM  
Kerrylib
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 158
Default

As far as I understand, Kitchen requires 2 circuits. (refer to electricians here to verify/comment). Don't some appliances require their own outlets as well, (microwave, dishwasher, disposal)?

As drawn (if wired correctly) the GFI will protect all downstream outlets.

Also I do know that as petey racer said, #2 and #4 outlets are not allowed. They will need to be wired into the living room circuit, or new circuit run.

__________________
Kerrylib is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-14-2006, 05:08 PM  
petey_racer
Licensed Electrician
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 105
Default

Yes, many things do require, or are suggested, a dedicated circuit.

-If the micro is fixed, as in an over the range unit, dedicated circuit.
-Refer; definitely a suggested dedicated circuit. Can be 15 amp.
-DW; usually shares a 20a circuit with the disposal if present.
-ANY electric cooking appliance; dedicated. Can be shared with other untis but this is not at all recommended for a DIYer.

If this is a complete re-wire then yes, there is much more to the story than show in the diagram.

__________________

Please post back and let us know how it turns out....

petey_racer is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-14-2006, 05:39 PM  
tooltime
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 48
Default

Yes, there is more involved here I guess.. just trying to keep it simple. The entire houe was wired up on 4 or 5 14 gauge 2-wire circuits (no ground). I am in the process of running additional outlets in the kitchen using remodel boxes, and trying to keep the holes in the wall sot a minimum , and down below base cabinets if possible.
The stove and micro (mounted) will share a circuit.
The fridge will have its own.
Dishwasher/Disposal shared circuit with a switch for the disposal.
Some under cabinet lighting will be on a switch, with 3-4 outlets. Mostly for the small lights, but also for occasional slow cooker/ skillet use on the counter.


Not all the outlets will be in use, let alone 24/7. I would rather have the extras available, than being aggravated at not having enough. There were only a few existing.

There will be a separate area for the appliances as shown on the diagram above (#3/5/6) which will be a pair of low mounted wall cabinets.

__________________

If you want it done right, guess you gotta do it yourself. :D

tooltime is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-14-2006, 06:14 PM  
petey_racer
Licensed Electrician
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 105
Default

Two things.

Yes, I forgot to mention. The micro CAN share a receptacle with an all gas range. This is fine.

You CANNOT share ANY lighting with kitchen receptacle circuits.
You can have "lighting only" switched receptacles though. Above the cabinets for example.

__________________

Please post back and let us know how it turns out....

petey_racer is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-15-2006, 01:15 PM  
tooltime
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by petey_racer
Two things.

Yes, I forgot to mention. The micro CAN share a receptacle with an all gas range. This is fine.

You CANNOT share ANY lighting with kitchen receptacle circuits.
You can have "lighting only" switched receptacles though. Above the cabinets for example.

No lighting? You mean no hard-wired lighinng right?
The undercabinet lighting I will be using is corded, much like a lamp, but it mounts under the cabinet (or wall I imagine).

An yes, my the range is gas, but still has electronic controls. It's really nice and I got a great deal on it
__________________

If you want it done right, guess you gotta do it yourself. :D

tooltime is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-18-2006, 05:18 PM  
Kerrylib
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 158
Default

I think your countertop outlet spacing is 4 ft maximum. Kitchen appliances come w/ a 2 ft cord. As you said, better to have more than you need and not use them, rather than the other way around.

When you lay out your outlets, I've heard a good idea is to alternate the cirucits so that if you have the toaster plugged into one outlet and a coffee maker in the next, they are on separate circuits. That way when you are making breakfast and the coffee maker is running along with the toaster (both of which pull a lot of current) you won't be loading the circuit to the max.

LOTS AND LOTS OF LUCK

I am seeing the same kind of work in my kitchen in the future. Total kitchen redo and replace aluminum wiring. Possibly move stove, etc. Major remodel, once the budget is there.



__________________
Kerrylib is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Tips for Kitchen Improvement kbchome General Home Improvement Discussion 1 08-11-2008 02:28 PM
Kitchen Remodeling thoughts michael123 General Home Improvement Discussion 0 07-23-2008 01:03 AM
how do I wire an inline fan to the hvac blower tomate10 HVAC 1 06-02-2008 10:49 AM
Helpful hints for kitchen remodel bandrews57 General Home Improvement Discussion 2 03-11-2007 11:38 AM