DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > switch a 220 lead to 110




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-08-2012, 10:55 PM  
asbestos
Good with caulk
 
asbestos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 244
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default switch a 220 lead to 110

I got a water heater that turned out to be 110v the flex going to it has 2 blacks and a ground as you would expect. Can I just Disconnect one of the hots from the breaker, move it to the neutral buss (and flag it with white tape.) and use that setup as my 110v ?
It sounds fine to me but I have been told I don't know everything

to be clear I would have in the end
1 hot black
one black with some white tape going to the neutral
and a ground
in the box, a double pole breaker with only one pole hooked up



__________________
Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but not their own facts

Last edited by asbestos; 05-08-2012 at 10:57 PM.
asbestos is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-09-2012, 07:02 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,136
Liked 91 Times on 81 Posts
Likes Given: 59

Default

Flag both ends and switch the two pole breaker to a single pole breaker and your all set.
When reusing the wire check the amp rating of the new water heater to make sure you have the correct wire and breaker size.
The higher the voltage, the lower the current so the old 240V wire may not be large enough for the new 120V heater.
I wish all questions came with the answer built in like yours.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-09-2012, 10:02 AM  
asbestos
Good with caulk
 
asbestos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 244
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

I knew there was something I forgot. wire size. I was going to flag on both ends, why switch out the breaker? other then so you don't have a double with one? is it just for general neatness and professionalism or is there another reason. it's about a 10' run to the heater which is 2200w. so I am hoping the wire is at least 12 or 10

__________________
Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but not their own facts
asbestos is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-09-2012, 04:53 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,136
Liked 91 Times on 81 Posts
Likes Given: 59

Default

2200 Watt, 120 Volt heater.

What guage wire is existing?

What amp breaker is the 2-pole?

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-09-2012, 07:56 PM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 914
Liked 85 Times on 71 Posts

Default

It is against code to recolour a wire white.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-09-2012, 08:59 PM  
asbestos
Good with caulk
 
asbestos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 244
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Did it. Yes technically if you re phase a wire it is supposed to be one gauge bigger or something. this was 10GA (double 20 breaker)wire running 1900 watts. flagged both ends. not perfect but good enough, and not worth tearing the walls apart to get to.
Thanks, All

__________________
Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but not their own facts
asbestos is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-10-2012, 09:11 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,136
Liked 91 Times on 81 Posts
Likes Given: 59

Default

10 AWG on a 30 Amp single pole breaker would be the correct setup. You'll find that a 20 amp breaker will run warm when heating the water.
2200 Watts / 120 Volts = 18.3 amps
80% of a 20 amp breaker is 16 amps
So using a 30 amp breaker would be appropriate.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Lead Paint Concerns JeffSeb Roofing and Siding 1 08-17-2010 08:38 PM
Lead Paint Removal Flemish Bond Painting Forum 5 10-24-2009 09:15 PM
Lead paint on windows cinder Painting Forum 13 05-28-2009 01:44 PM
lead paint issues DTLS Windows and Doors 2 05-06-2008 05:57 AM